Skip to main content
Banner Image

Communication: Home

a guide to help students find library resources in the study of communication

The Center for Writing and Academic Achievement

The Center for Writing and Academic Achievement is located on the 3rd floor the MacPhaidin Library in Room 314.

As of Tuesday, September 8, the Center is open the following hours for drop in appointments.

  • Sunday  7:00 pm to 10:00 pm
  • Monday  Noon to 11:00 pm
  • Tuesday Noon to 11:00 pm
  • Wednesday Noon to 11:00 pm
  • Thursday  Noon to 10:00 pm

The Center for Writing and Academic Achievement offers additional tutoring at the following locations and times during the semester:

Chemistry tutoring in the Petti Atrium  Sunday through Thursday, 8:30 pm to 11:00 pm

Math tutoring in the Math Lab - Duffy 118  Tuesday adn Thursdays, 7:00 pm to 10:00 pm

Please see the Center for Writing and Academic Achievement for the complete subject tutoring schedule.

Phone numbers and email addresses for the Center for Writing and Academic Achievement are:

Devon Sprague, Director

Susan Wall, Coordinator









Getting Started


This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for communication. You can use the tabs on the top of the page to access specific resources. Those resources include:

Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. They are located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library. Communication can be found in the QA section of the collection. Ask a Reference librarian for help, if needed.

Finding Books and Videos  - This page will give you access to two library catalogs, HillSearch, the MacPhaidin Library Catalog and the WorldCat catalog. HillSearch will list all books, periodicals, audio-visual materials, government documents and electronic resources held in our library. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. it can be used to order items from interlibrary loan.

Finding Articles - When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for communication topics. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and the library's full text finder (the tool you can use to determine if we have electronic access to a particular journal.)

Internet Sources - This page provides links to reputable collections and websites related to the study of communication.

Citing Resources- Your professors will likely specify which citation style he or she would like you to use. This page will provide you access to a number of the most frequently-used citation styles. This will also give you a link to RefWorks, an online citation tool.

Contact Us

 Text us at 508.709.0223

 Call us at 508.565.1103

 Email us  

 Use LibAnswers to submit a question

 Make a Reference appointment

  Reference Desk hours:

                Monday – Thursday: 10am – 10pm

                Friday:  10am – 5pm

                Sunday:  12pm – 10pm