Banner Image

LC 200 15 Rounds of History: Politics, Culture and Place in the City of Champions: Home

a guide to help students find research material for LC 200
Help with Off-Campus Access

Off-Campus Access for most library resources is available. It requires a Stonehill I.D. and PIN number. Help is available.

Getting Started

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for accounting. You can use the tabs on the top of the page to access specific resources. Those resources include:

Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. They are located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library. Sociology can be found in the HM section of the collection. Ask a Reference librarian for help, if needed.

Finding Books - This page will give you access to two library catalogs, HillSearch, the MacPhaidin Library Catalog and the WorldCat catalog. HillSearch will list all books, periodicals, audio-visual materials, government documents and electronic resources held in our library. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. it can be used to order items from interlibrary loan.

ebooks -  A guide to downloading and printing eBooks

Finding Articles - When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for sociology topics. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and the library's full text finder (the tool you can use to determine if we have electronic access to a particular journal.)

Internet Sources - This page provides links to reputable collections and websites related to sociology. Here you will find information about account standards and associations.

Sources for Statistics - Federal - This page has links to the Federal agency statistical sources.

Sources for Statistics - Massachusetts  - This page has links to State agencies statistical sources.

Census Resources - Links to United States Census resources and statistical databases.

Citing Resources- Your professors will likely specify which citation style he or she would like you to use. This page will provide you access to the Purdue Owl, online and printable guides . This will also give you a link to RefWorks, an online citation tool.

Need Help?

You can reach the reference librarians by texting us a message, phone, email or in person.

***********************************

 Text us at 508.709.0223

 Call us at 508.565.1103 or 508.565.1203

 Email reference@stonehill.edu

 Use LibAnswers to submit a question

 Stop by the Reference Desk during normal hours

************************************

         Reference Desk Hours are:

         Monday through Thrusday

         9:00 AM to 10:00 PM

         Friday

         9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

         Saturday

         10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

         Sunday

         10:00 AM to 10:00 PM