LibGuides: Philosophy: Finding Articles

Library Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing over 13,690 indexed and abstracted journals and nearly 9,100 full-text journals, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,450 journals.
Updated daily
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on: Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communication and the General Sciences. Covers 1980 to the present.
Global Issues in Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues in Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, highly relevant sources for analysis of social, political, military, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues. Each of these gateway pages includes an overview, unique "perspectives" articles written by local experts, reference, periodical, primary source and statistical information. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes both book chapters and journal articles available as PDFs. The journal archive includes the complete run of over 400 journal titles in 25 disciplines with a lag period of 3-5 years from the present.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. Using advanced trawling techniques and large-scale crowdsourcing, we monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.
Project Muse Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 250 scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Best viewed in FireFox.

Online Publications and Open Access Journals

Aeon - This free digital publication provides content from some of the leading thinkers in the fields of science, philosophy, and the arts.

Daily Nous - Daily Nous provides news for and about the philosophy profession, useful information for academic philosophers, links to items of interest, and an online space for engage in public discussion.

Philosophy Today - Philosophy Today is an international peer-reviewed journal that reflects the current questions, topics, and debates of contemporary philosophy. While some content requires a subscription, click on the "free content" link to explore articles available without a subscription.

Google Scholar

About Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a subset of Google Web Search that covers all subjects: science, the social sciences and humanities. You can search for scholarly literature, legal documents, books and reports. You can access Google Scholar directly or through the links located in LibGuides.

Many articles are in fulltext and available to anyone on the web, while others may be available through the library's databases. Google Scholar does link to versions of papers and articles that are on publishers's web sites that require a fee to view; in this instance, use the library's interlibrary loan service If a site is asking you to purchase the the article. Be aware that not all search results in Google Scholar will provide scholarly material.

Google Scholar will also provide a list of references under each citation. These citations can lead you to other resources on your research topic.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to most of the library's databases is available. In order to use these resources from home, you will need to log in using your MyHill credentials - your username and password.

If you need assistance please contact the The Desk at 508-565-1313.

Borrow Items from Interlibrary Loan

If Stonehill does not own the book, book chapter, or article you need, you can order it through our Interlibrary Loan Department. Please visit the Interlibrary Loan page on the library website to order materials or sign up for an account. Need help with a request or your Interlibrary Loan account? Contact librarydeskgroup@stonehill.edu. Due to the possibility of mail delays, please order your items as soon as possible.