LibGuides: BIO 311 Comparative Vertebrate Anatomy: Journal Articles

Finding Research in Physiology

In order to find the most comprehensive, complete research about topics in physiology you will want to search several of our databases.

We subscribe to the consolidated American Journal of Physiology which includes all seven of their journals including:

You may also want to search Academic Search Complete, PubMed, Science Direct, JSTOR and Google Scholar in order to get the most complete information.

If we do not have an article you want, please order it on interlibrary loan. There is no cost, and you usually receive the article in 1-2 business days.

Contact Us

Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

Email us

Make a Reference appointment

Databases for Journal Articles

American Journal of Physiology
The American Journal of Physiology - Cell Physiology is dedicated to innovative approaches to the study of cell and molecular physiology

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing over 13,690 indexed and abstracted journals and nearly 9,100 full-text journals, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,450 journals.
Updated daily
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information from more than 4,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 10 million citations dating from 1966 to the present. New features allow for displays of free full text and Stonehill College holdings.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

DOAJ: Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ is a community-curated list of open access journals and aims to be the starting point for all information searches for quality, peer reviewed open access material.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches scholarly literature and includes peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, book citations, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from a variety of content providers. Sources of material include academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and open access publishers. Some content is available in full text.

If the library has a subscription to the electronic version for the journal, you should have access to the article. Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles that you are not able to access online.