Library Primary Source CollectionsEditorial CartoonsPrimary Source Material in Native American HistoryPrimary Sources about Women in World War IIGeneral Primary Source Sites on the Internet
This is the "Home" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A guide to help students research historical topics.
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2014 URL: http://libguides.stonehill.edu/history Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

From the Primarily History Blog

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Sites added to Delicious

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

Getting Started

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for history. The home page of this guide will provide you with information about how you can contact the librarians and when. Additionally, you'll find links providing access to a variety of digital primary source collections. Use the tabs on the top of the page to access specific resources. Those resources include:

Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. They are located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library. History materials can be found in the C - F sections of the collection. Ask a Reference librarian for help, if needed.

Finding Books - This page will give you access to two library catalogs, HillSearch, the MacPhaidin Library catalog and the WorldCat catalog. HillSearch function allows you to use one platform to search for books and other materials held in the library, electronic books, scholarly journal articles and other resources. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. it can be used to order items from inter-library loan.

Finding Articles - When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for history topics. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and the library's full text finder (the tool you can use to determine if we have electronic access to a particular journal.)

Finding Primary Sources -  This tab provides you access to an annotated list of the library's subscription primary source databases. Additionally, you'll find a link to the librarian's collection of digitized primary source collections.

Citing Your Research - This tab will provide you with access to an electronic version of the Chicago Manual of Style. Copies of the manual as well as other citation documentation is available at the reference desk. On this tab you will also find a link to RefWorks, an online citation tool.

 

Need Help?

You can reach the reference librarians by texting us a message, phone, email or in person.

***********************************

 Text us at 508.709.0223

 Call us at 508.565.1103 or 508.565.1203

 Email reference@stonehill.edu

 Use LibAnswers to submit a question

 Stop by the Reference Desk during the  hours listed below

         Monday through Thursday

         9:00 AM to 10:00 PM

         Friday

         9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

         Saturday

         10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

         Sunday

         10:00 AM to 10:00 PM

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip