This is the "About" page of the "Info Cafe" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Info Cafe   Tags: subject guide  

Last Updated: Feb 14, 2013 URL: http://libguides.stonehill.edu/infocafe Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
About Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Calendar of Events

Info Cafe Calendar of Events

Click on an event to register

Click on a date to see that day's events

 

Session Offerings

Download our full menu of tutorial offerings:

 

Where is the Info Cafe?

The Info Cafe is located adjacent to the Reference Desk and across from the Circulation Desk in the MacPhaidin Library.

 

Disclaimer

Participants are advised that some publication or research presentation might result from anonymous, aggregated data garnered in this exercise.

 

Welcome!

 

Can you spare 20 minutes now?  We can save you an hour later.

 

The MacPhaidin Library's Info Cafe offers you a selection of tutorials to increase your productivity and strengthen your research skills.  Below, you'll find descriptions of the wide array of topics covered at the Cafe and an indication of how much time you'll save by attending one of these sessions.  Three 20 minute sessions equals 1/3rd of a merit point.  Sessions span three categories:

Scroll down for tutorial offerings.  If you have any questions or would like more information, contact the Reference Department.

 

Library 101

Need to find a book?  An e-reserve?  The scanner?  These tutorials will offer you an overview of library resources and services.

 

Tutorial Title (time spent / time saved)

Library Basics (20 minutes / one hour)

Our web page provides you with access to our catalog, databases, class guides and much more.  Attend the session and we'll show you where everything is.

 

LibGuides (20 minutes / two hours)

LibGuides provides one-stop shopping for library resources in a particular field of study.  This tutorial will teach you how to access and navigate our LibGuides.

 

Reference Collection (20 minutes / one hour)

Subject specific dictionaries and encyclopedias, statistical sources and sourcebooks are just some of the items we havein our reference collection.  Learn how these resources can help inform your research.

 

Circulating Collection (20 minutes / half hour)

Our circulating collection contains thousands of books you can check out with your HillCard and others you can check out online.  Did you know you can also check out music CDs, popular DVDs and e-readers?  Come to this session to learn how to search for items in our catalog and navigate our databases of electronic books.

 

eLearn (20 minutes / half hour)

The college's course management software enables you to communicate with your professor and classmates, access electronic resources and much more.  This tutorial will introduce you to eLearn's features.

 

Time Savers

Research is a time-consuming process. Formatting your paper and compiling your bibliography can be too.  The following tutorials are designed to introduce you to some library tools that can save you some time. 

 

Tutorial Title (time spent / time saved)

Illiad (20 minutes/two hours)

ILLiad, the library’s interlibrary loan system, enables you to order items from libraries throughout the country and around the world. During this session, you will set up an ILLiad account and learn how the system works with the WorldCat Catalog and the Library Databases.

 

Citations (20 minutes/one hour)

As Stonehill students, you’re bound by the college’s Academic Honor Code to maintain an “uncompromising commitment to academic integrity”. This session will help ensure you’re properly citing your work using the appropriate citation style for your discipline. Some of the styles we will cover include APA, MLA and Chicago.

 

RefWorks (20 minutes/many hours)

Ref works, the library’s citation management tool, allows you to store, annotate and edit your research resources’ bibliographic records and share them with fellow students or faculty.  Students also love the fact that this product will create your bibliography for you.  Once you try it, you’ll wonder how you lived without it.

  

Tech Tidbits (20 minutes/one hour)

Need help accessing HillSpot in the Library. Would you like to learn how to use the library’s book scanner or print double-sided? This 20-minute session will bring you up to date on many of the library’s technology tools.

 

Google 101 (20 minutes/two hours)

Is Google a time-saver? Not if your search returns 3 million results. This session will teach you advanced search strategies and introduce you to the resources available in Google Books and Google Scholar.

 

Database Tips

The following tutorials will teach you advanced techniques to make your searches most effective.  Each of these tutorials will take about 20 minutes and will save your hours wasted on unproductive searching.

 

  • Academic Search Premier
  • America History & Life  / Historical Abstracts
  • ArtSTOR
  • Biology Databases
  • Business Databases
  • Catholic Literature and Periodicals Index
  • Chemistry Databases
  • Communication Abstracts
  • Criminal Justice Periodicals
  • EconLit
  • Education Databases
  • EEBO
  • JSTOR
  • Lexis-Nexis Congressional
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Philosopher's Index
  • Project Muse
  • Primary Source Databases
  • PsycINFO
  • PubMed
  • Religion Databases
  • SciFinder Scholar
  • Science Direct
  • SocIndex
  • WestLaw
  • WorldCat
  • 19th Century Masterfile
 

Need Help?

You can reach the reference librarians by texting us a message, phone, email or in person.

***********************************

 Text us at 508.709.0223

 Call us at 508.565.1103 or 508.565.1203

 Email reference@stonehill.edu

 Use LibAnswers to submit a question

 Stop by the Reference Desk during the  hours listed below

         Monday through Thursday

         9:00 AM to 10:00 PM

         Friday

         9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

         Saturday

         10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

         Sunday

         10:00 AM to 10:00 PM

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip