Welcome
This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for history. The home page of this guide will provide you with information about how you can contact the library for assistance, a brief description of the resources highlighted in this guide, links to the Center for Writing and Academic Achievement, and other useful resources. Use the navigation menu in the left-hand column to navigate to those different resources. They include:
Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the subject-specific encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks. A small sample of history-related reference sources are listed on this page. These works are located in the Reference section on the first floor and are for use only in the library. If you are studying remotely and would like to access reference sources, please contact me.
Finding Books - This page will give you access to two library catalogs, HillSearch, the MacPhaidin Library catalog and the WorldCat catalog. HillSearch allows you to search for items in the library's collection including print books, eBooks, streaming media, government documents, primary sources, and much more. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. it can be used to order items from inter-library loan.
Finding Articles - When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for history topics. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar.
Finding Primary Sources - This tab provides you access to information about search for primary searches in HillSearch, an annotated list of the library's subscription primary source databases, and links to primary source repositories in United States and World History. Please feel free to contact me for assistance in locating primary source materials.
Reading History - This tab provides you access to information about historical thinking skills and questions to consider when reading and analyzing a text.
Citing Your Research - This tab will provide you with access to an electronic version of the Chicago Manual of Style.
 |
 |
 |
 |
 |
Call The Desk at 508.565.1313
