Banner Image

Electronic Resources: Home

This guide contains a full list of resources organized by name.
About this Guide

This guide provides links to the library's electronic resources, including databases the Library subscribes to in order to meet students' and faculty's research needs. The resources in this guide are arranged by title in alphabetical order. Use the A to Z tabs above to locate the database you wish to use.

If you do not know the title of the database you wish to access, please use one of the subject or class guides. You will find links to our subject and class guides in the boxes to the right.

Databases are used to search for articles in:

  • Scholarly journals
  • Trade publications
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers, both historical and present day

An individual database can cover a wide range of subject areas, or it can be subject focused. Stonehill subscribes to a number of article databases, such as JStor, Academic Search Premier, SciFinder, and Project Muse, that can help you find resources for your research.

In addition to articles, databases may also contain other types of materials, depending on the subject area the database covers. For instance, some of the electronic resources in this guide contain:

  • Collections of e-books
  • Selections of primary source materials including letters, diaries, photographs, and other documents
  • Images of art work
  • Legislative files and the text of laws
  • Company/industry financial information

Many of the databases in this guide have full-text content. Full-text means that the database will provide you with a link to navigate directly from your search results to the full text of an article, company report, historical document, or other item:

If the full text of a resources is not available, a full-text finding feature is embedded and displayed in your search results. In the image below, link one (1) will allow you to "Search Stonehill Catalog" for the item; clicking this link takes you to HillSearch, where you must enter the title of the article or journal you wish to find. You may also see a second link (2), to "Check E-Journals"; selecting this link opens a new window that will tell you whether or not the full text of your article is available in any of Stonehill's other databases:

You may also see a link to request the item via Interlibrary Loan:

Before placing an Interlibrary Loan request, use the “Search Stonehill Catalog” and “Check E-Journals” links to make sure the article is not available in the Library. Journal articles may also be available in paper or microform. To locate print journals the Library owns, search HillSearch. Information about searching HillSearch for journal titles is available on the Library website. If the item is not available in the Library, then you can use Interlibrary Loan to request an electronic copy from another institution.

If you have a citation for an article and would like to know if the library has access to the publication, search by the journal title using HillSearch.

If you have questions about locating particular databases, or finding resources within a database, remember that the Reference Department is here to help! You can reach us via email at reference@stonehill.edu, by phone at 508.565.1203, by text at 508.709.0223, in person at the Reference Desk, or via LibChat. 

Subject Guides

The Subject Guide pages provide links to resources for all of the different disciplines. On these pages you can find discipline specific books, databases, internet sources, and citation guides.

Choose a Subject Guide when you are looking for resources in a paricular discipline.

Class Guides

Class Guides have been created  to help you find the resources you need for specific classes. 

Class Guides are available for many general education classes, as well as for specific upper division classes.

Use a class guide to find books, databases, internet resources, streaming media, and citation guides that your professor has recommended for use in your class.

If you do not find the class guide you are looking for, ask a reference librarian for help.

Need Help?

You can reach the reference librarians by texting us a message, phone, email or in person.

***********************************

 Text us at 508.709.0223

 Call us at 508.565.1103 or 508.565.1203

 Email reference@stonehill.edu

 Use LibAnswers to submit a question

 Stop by the Reference Desk during normal hours

************************************

         Reference Desk Hours are:

         Monday through Thrusday

         9:00 AM to 10:00 PM

         Friday

         9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

         Saturday

         10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

         Sunday

         10:00 AM to 10:00 PM

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to most of these resources is available. In order to use these resources from home, you will need a barcode number and a PIN number. You must create a PIN number before you can use our proxy server for off-campus access to the library's electronic resources. Help with this process is available.

Online Citation Tools