This is the "About" page of the "Info Cafe" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Info Cafe   Tags: subject guide  

Last Updated: Oct 16, 2013 URL: http://libguides.stonehill.edu/infocafe Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

About Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Calendar of Events

Info Cafe Calendar of Events

Click on an event to register

Click on a date to see that day's events

 

Session Offerings

Download our full menu of tutorial offerings:

 

Where is the Info Cafe?

The Info Cafe is located adjacent to the Reference Desk and across from the Circulation Desk in the MacPhaidin Library.

 

Disclaimer

Participants are advised that some publication or research presentation might result from anonymous, aggregated data garnered in this exercise.

 

Welcome!

 

Can you spare 20 minutes now?  We can save you an hour later.

The MacPhaidin Library's Info Cafe offers you a selection of tutorials to increase your productivity and strengthen your research skills.  Below, you'll find descriptions of the wide array of topics covered at the Cafe and an indication of how much time you'll save by attending one of these sessions. Sessions span three categories:

Scroll down for tutorial offerings.  If you have any questions or would like more information, contact the Reference Department.

You can also email us with suggestions for other topics you'd like to see offered at the Info Cafe, or call us at 508.565.1203 to tell us your ideas.

 

Library 101

Tutorial Title (time spent / time saved)

 

RefWorks Basics and RefWorks Advanced (20 minutes / one hour)

RefWorks is a powerful tool that can help you easily manage your research and create bibliographies and works cited pages. Come to our Basics session to learn how to set up and manage your account, or our advanced session for more information on how to make the most of your RefWorks access.

 

HillSearch Advanced (20 minutes / one hours)

Come learn how to make the most of your time spent using HillSearch. We will talk about the "facets," or links at the left-hand side of your search results, what an "Articles" search provides, how to understand all the pieces of a HillSearch record, and more useful facts to save you time and energy.

 

Time Savers

Research is a time-consuming process. Formatting your paper and compiling your bibliography can be too.  Tutorials on the following topics/topic areas are designed to introduce you to some library tools that can save you some time. If you are interested in a session below that you don't see on our current calendar, just email us or call us at 508.565.1203 and we'll be happy to schedule a session for you!

 

Tutorial Title (time spent / time saved)

Citations (20 minutes/one hour)

As Stonehill students, you’re bound by the college’s Academic Honor Code to maintain an “uncompromising commitment to academic integrity”. This session will help ensure you’re properly citing your work using the appropriate citation style for your discipline. Some of the styles we cover include sessions on APA, MLA and Chicago.

 

Better Google Searches (20 minutes/two hours)

Is Google a time-saver? Not if your search returns 3 million results. This session will teach you advanced search strategies and introduce you to the resources available in Google Books and Google Scholar.

Illiad (20 minutes/two hours)

ILLiad, the library’s interlibrary loan system, enables you to order items from libraries throughout the country and around the world. During this session, you will set up an ILLiad account and learn how the system works with the WorldCat Catalog and the Library Databases.

  

Tech Tidbits (20 minutes/one hour)

Need help accessing HillSpot in the Library. Would you like to learn how to use the library’s book scanner or print double-sided? This 20-minute session will bring you up to date on many of the library’s technology tools.

 

 

Database Tips

The following tutorials will teach you advanced techniques to make your searches most effective.  Each of these tutorials will take about 20 minutes and will save your hours wasted on unproductive searching. We offer sessions on some of the most popular databases regularly, but if you see a database listed here and can't find a session, just email us or call us at 508.565.1203 and we'll be happy to schedule a relevant session for you!

 

  • Academic Search Premier
  • America History & Life  / Historical Abstracts
  • ArtSTOR
  • Biology Databases
  • Business Databases
  • Catholic Literature and Periodicals Index
  • Chemistry Databases
  • Communication Abstracts
  • Criminal Justice Periodicals
  • EconLit
  • Education Databases
  • EEBO
  • JSTOR
  • Lexis-Nexis Congressional
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • Philosopher's Index
  • Project Muse
  • Primary Source Databases
  • PsycINFO
  • PubMed
  • Religion Databases
  • SciFinder Scholar
  • Science Direct
  • SocIndex
  • WestLaw
  • WorldCat
  • 19th Century Masterfile
 

Need Help?

You can reach the reference librarians by texting us a message, phone, email or in person.

***********************************

 Text us at 508.709.0223

 Call us at 508.565.1103 or 508.565.1203

 Email reference@stonehill.edu

 Use LibAnswers to submit a question

 Stop by the Reference Desk during the  hours listed below

         Monday through Thursday

         9:00 AM to 10:00 PM

         Friday

         9:00 AM to 5:00 PM

         Saturday

         10:00 AM to 5:00 PM

         Sunday

         10:00 AM to 10:00 PM

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip