Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HIS 137: The Civil Rights Movement from Jim Crow to Black Lives Matter: Home

From Jim Crow to Black Lives Matter

Black Lives Matter Banner
Jim Crow Pamphlet
I can't Breathe Poster
Jim Crow
BLM Mural
Black Water Fountain
President Obama
Segregated housing poster

Librarians Can Help!

Librarians are here to support you in this complex new learning environment.  Check out the Library Resources and Support course in eLearn, or contact us by:

 

Text: 508.709.0223

Email: librarydeskgroup@stonehill.edu

Tel: 508.565.1313

Make a Virtual Appointment

Your Librarian

Heather Perry's picture
Heather Perry
Contact:
Library 110
508-565-1538

Getting Started

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for history. The home page of this guide will provide you with information about how you can contact the librarians and when. Additionally, you'll find links providing access to a variety of digital primary source collections. Use the tabs on the top of the page to access specific resources. Those resources include:

Finding Books - This page will give you access to two collections of books, HillSearch the listing for the MacPhaidin Library collection and the WorldCat catalog, listing books available worldwide. HillSearch function allows you to use one platform to search for books and other materials held in the library, electronic books, scholarly journal articles, and other resources. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. it can be used to order items from inter-library loan. Additionally, Google Books can be used for search within many books, to find materials that may be useful for your needs. 

Finding Articles - When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for history topics. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers, and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and the library's full-text finder (the tool you can use to determine if we have electronic access to a particular journal.)

Finding Primary Sources -  This tab provides you access to an annotated list of the library's subscription primary source databases. Additionally, you'll find a link to the librarian's collection of digitized primary source collections.

Citing Your Research - This tab will provide you with access to an electronic version of the Chicago Manual of Style. Copies of the manual as well as other citation documentation is available at the reference desk. On this tab you will also find a link to RefWorks, an online citation tool.

Contact Us

In order to comply with state COVID-19 safety regulations, building occupancy will be reduced this fall. Call The Desk at 508-565-1313 to find out whether the building is at capacity. Safety measures have also called for some additional changes in library operations. You can learn more about them on the FAQ page of the library website.

Students who wish to meet with a librarian can make an appointment using LibCal.

 Text us at 508.709.0223

  Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

  Email us  

 Make a Virtual Reference appointment

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility