Skip to main content

Faculty Writing Retreat and Learning Lab: Home

Faculty Writing Retreat and Learning Lab

     

 

General Schedule

January 11 - 15, 2016 

 

Mornings 9:00 am - noon 

Writing Retreat 

Location: MacPhaidin Library

 

Lunches noon - 1:00 pm 

Location: Collaborative seating area 

 

Afternoons 1:00 pm - 3:00 pm 

Lab Topics and Consultations (see descriptions below)

 

Session 1  

1:00 pm - 2:00 pm 

Location One: DisCo (seats 30) 

Location Two: Info Café (seats 6) 

Location Three: Collaborative Seating area (seats 50) 

 

Session 2 

2:00 pm - 3:00pm 

Location One: DisCo (seats 30) 

Location Two: Info Café (seats 6) 

Location Three: Collaborative Seating area (seats 50)

 

 

Session 3

3:00 pm - 4:00pm 

Location One: DisCo (seats 30) 

Location Two: Info Café (seats 6) 

Location Three: Collaborative Seating area (seats 50)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Writing Retreat and Learning Lab

Please join colleagues the week of January 11 - 15, 2016 to prepare for the Spring semester.

Mornings, find a quiet spot in the library to write.

Afternoons, join colleagues and experts in learning outcomes, instructional design, and educational technology.

Descriptions of afternoon sessions are below.

Click the box below to sign up for all morning and afternoon sessions and lunches. Thank you!

This Programming is offered by CWAA, Information Technology, Intercultural Affairs, Provost's Office, and the Stonehill College Library

Afternoon Session Descriptions

All sessions are listed by date, followed by general information about the types of one-on-one consultations available. To sign up for one-on-one consultations, visit: http://tinyurl.com/writinglabretreat

Monday, January 11th:
10 Best Practices for Teaching Writing Intensive First-Year Seminars

Writing Intensive First-Year Seminars (and Writing-in-the-Disciplines courses) have been a requirement of Stonehill’s Cornerstone Program of General Education for four years.  In fact, the first cohort of seniors to complete the two-part requirement will be graduating in the present academic year!  Join Writing Program faculty for an interactive workshop on 10 Best Practices--gleaned from our experience, assessment, and observation in the field--for integrating writing and other essential academic literacy skills into your course.  Bring your syllabi and assignment prompts for quick feedback and/or future networking and support.

Detecting Plagiarism: Safe Assign and Turn It In
Learn the features of Safe Assign and Turn it in and how to implement them in your eLearn course sites.

 

Tuesday, January 12th
Collaborate Ultra
The Collaborate session is an online  “Collaborate Session “ by a Blackboard expert. Participants in this workshop will get a solid foundation, enabling them to successfully deliver live, interactive Blackboard Collaborate web conferencing sessions. Participants will learn how to effectively manage the session communication tools, display PowerPoint content and record sessions for later playback.

Coursepacks, Copyright and eReserves
This year, the College has changed its approach to course packs and copyright; all course packs must be reviewed through the library before they can be printed and distributed to students. In addition, the library has Ares, our updated electronic reserves system, through which we can make materials available to students in eLearn. In this session, we'll go over the requirements for creating course packs and the advantages to using Ares for your course reserves.

Information Fluency Problem Solving
Information fluency (IF) is the ability to perform effectively in an information-rich and technology-intensive environment. It is the ability to gather, evaluate, and use information in ethical and legal ways. Information fluency encompasses and integrates three important skills: information literacy, technology literacy, and critical thinking. These three skills are not mutually exclusive but overlap in many areas.  What IF challenges do your students face? Discuss issues and possible solutions with other attendees and Joe Middleton, Head Reference Librarian.

 

Wednesday, January 13th
Flipping Your Classroom

Jan Harrison and Liz Chase will lead a conversation on the flipped classroom, including the pedagogical benefits of “flipping” your instruction, and the technical solutions available to help you do so.

Information Fluency and the Frameworks: Thresholds
In early 2015, the Association of College and Research Libraries introduced its new Framework for Information Literacy in Higher Education. The Frameworks replace the Information Literacy Competancy Standards. Currently, the Reference team is working to address the Frameworks and incorporate them into an overall strategic plan for our instruction program. Come to this session to hear more and to share with us your top priorities for the information literacy needs of your disciplines.

Learning spaces classroom needs conversation 
This session provides an opportunity for faculty to discuss classroom needs to support both analog and digital pedagogies and student learning. We are interested in hearing from faculty about both their immediate and projected future needs.

Clear Touch Interactive Panel Overview & Demonstration
The Clear Touch interactive panel provides a new experience for projecting, viewing and interacting/collaborating both in and outside the classroom. This unique interactive panel functions as a computer, projector, presentation screen and whiteboard.  The Clear Touch panel will be available during the week of January 11th for anyone who would like to try it and a demonstration will be held on Wed. at 1pm. 

Strategies for effective use of the Writing Center & CWAA services
The Center for Writing and Academic Achievement (CWAA) provides tutoring for a number of subjects and oversees the Writing Fellows Program, Academic Peer Mentor Program, and a segment of the Teaching Assistant Program. All of our academic support services are facilitated by peers, and our philosophy is deeply rooted in collaborative learning theory. Come learn about our programs, discuss our methods, and explore possibilities for partnering with the CWAA. 

 

Thursday, January 14th
Print text or eBooks?
The Library offers a number of print and ebook solutions for making texts available to the Stonehill Community. In this session, Liz Chase will discuss our current ebook collections, how we decide when to purchase an ebook vs. a print book, how ebooks can be used in courses and electronic reserves, and your options when requesting materials for our collections.

 

Friday, January 15th
Micro and Macroagressions in the Classroom: Strategies to intervene

Join the Office of Intercultural Affairs in a dialogue to better understand how to notice and name micro and macroagressions in the classroom. Participants will explore common experiences with intervention and develop strategies to create teachable moments.

 

One-on-One Consultations (reserve your space here.)
One-on-One with an IT expert
During this consultation, you can request one-on-one assistance with eLearn, Panopto, MS Office and other classroom technologies.

Office 365 consultation
Interested in using OneDrive in your classes? Come learn more about Office 365 and its capabilities.

eLearn consultation
Receive one-on-one assistance with course design and explore some of eLearn’s many features.

eBrary annotating consultation
eBrary offers users a range of annotation tools. For instance, in the online platform you are able to highlight, make notes, and flag passages. These consultations will walk you through how to use ebrary's online tools both for your own work and with students in the classroom.

Streaming media consultation
Join the Reference Librarians to learn more about what is available in our Streaming Media collections and how to obtain titles that are not currently available.  Learn about adding items to your eLearn course and using additional features, such as clipping and collaging, and tools such as captioning and transcripts. 

RefWorks Consultation
RefWorks is a web-based citation management tool that allows you to download, annotate and share citations. During this session you will learn how to set up a RefWorks account; how RefWorks interacts with databases and catalogs; how you use RefWorks advanced features to personalize and share your citation database.

Citation tools consultation
Review the library’s collection of Citations LibGuides and the possibility of incorporating the appropriate guide into your eLearn course.  Jane can provide a quick review of RefWorks as well as an overview of free online citations tools such as Zotero, Mendeley and EasyBib.  

Scaffolding with a librarian
Scaffolding information literacy instruction provides students with direction and support throughout the research process and is much more effective than traditional “one-shot” library instruction sessions. During this session you and a librarian can meet to discuss how to best incorporate scaffolding into your research assignments. Some options include: include offering several, shorter library instruction sessions throughout the semester; altering the timing of your library instruction session so it coincides with the critical points of students’ research process; including librarians in your eLearn course so they can provide asynchronous research advice and support; and requiring your students to attend one or more research consultations with a reference librarian during the research process.

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility