Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Them Started with Quick Article Search
The Quick Article Search link is designed so that students can search over multiple databases in different subject areas. This is a good resource to recommend if you are not sure which specific database a student should be using.
Quick Article Search is located on the library's homepage:
Have the students enter their search query in the search box. Keywords should be separated by "and".
Point out that available articles will have a PDF or an HTML link below the record. Students can click these links to gain direct access to these articles, and can download the PDFs to their personal computers.
Instead of a PDF or HTML link, some articles will have a green link labeled "Full-Text Finder." This means that we may have access to the article in another database. Click the Full-Text Finder link to be taken to appropriate database.
Too many search results to sift through? Use the limiters in the left side navigation menu.
Limit your results by changing the 'Publication Date'. Move the blue bar to narrow your timeline, or use the boxes to enter your own date range. You can also limit your results by 'Source Types.' Use the check boxes to include the types of sources you want, and exclude the types that you don't.
Look for appropriate subject headings that have been assigned to promising articles. See how 'coffee' and 'anxiety' are both subjects?
Once you know some appropriate subject headings, you can search by subject to further narrow your results. Change the search field to "SU Subject Terms."
The Arts: Best Bets
Art Full Text
A full text and bibliographic database that contains art and art-related articles from periodicals published throughout the world.
A repository of over a million digital images and related data; The tools to actively use those images; and a restricted usage environment that seeks to balance the rights of content providers with the needs and interests of content users.
Business: Best Bets
Business Source Premier
Provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management, and economics journals. This collection includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, and sales; it also includes company and country profiles.
Communication: Best Bets
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides a quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
Education: Best Bets
Educator's Reference Complete
Academic journals, reference sources and ERIC documents are included in this database. Focus is on education principles, child development and psychology. Covers from 1980 to the present.
The world's largest source of education information, with more than 1 million abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice.
English: Best Bets
MLA International Bibliography
Includes citations to research literature in more than 3500 scholarly journals, monographic series, books, collections of essays and dissertations in the fields of modern languages and literatures, linguistics and folklore. Coverage is from 1963 to the present.
Health Care Administration: Best Bets
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine
Articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health & Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc.
Provides access to bibliographic information from more than 4,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 10 million citations dating from 1966 to the present. New features allow for displays of free full text and Stonehill College holdings.
History: Best Bets
Includes both book chapters and journal articles available as PDFs. The journal archive includes the complete run of over 400 journal titles in 25 disciplines with a lag period of 3-5 years from the present.
Philosophy: Best Bets
Indexes and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
Physical Sciences: Best Bets
The world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Psychology: Best Bets
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports from the field of psychology and from psychological aspects of other disciplines. Journal coverage is 1887 to the present, with material from over 1300 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Social Sciences: Best Bets
Sage Online Journals
SAGE online journals has more than 700 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine, and more than 298 are published on behalf of learned societies and institutions.
SocINDEX with FullText
A sociology research database with abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. It also provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals.