Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use These Resources to Look for Articles Online
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing over 13,690 indexed and abstracted journals and nearly 9,100 full-text journals, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,450 journals.
America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Allows users to search more than 1,000 U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.
ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index This link opens in a new window
This index database is an essential resource for religious and theological studies, providing bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Journal articles on: Astronomy, Religion, Law, History, Psychology, Humanities, Current Events, Sociology, Communication and the General Sciences. Covers 1980 to the present.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
A definitive reference work containing more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes both book chapters and journal articles available as PDFs. The journal archive includes the complete run of over 400 journal titles in 25 disciplines with a lag period of 3-5 years from the present.
New York Times 1851-2014 This link opens in a new window
Provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Nineteenth Century Masterfile This link opens in a new window
A reference service that covers the Nineteenth Century. It includes the web-based Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, plus dozens of other indexes to Periodicals, Books, Newspapers and Government Documents of the Nineteenth Century.
Project Muse Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 250 scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Best viewed in FireFox.
Salem Press History This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete content of printed reference sets. Stonehill College has access to Salem Press' The Decade's Series which includes the following titles: The Forties in America, The Fifties in America, The Sixties in America, The Seventies in America and The Eighties in America.
|About Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a subset of Google Web Search that covers all subjects: science, the social sciences and humanities. You can search for scholarly literature, legal documents, books and reports. You can access Google Scholar directly or through the links located in LibGuides.
Many articles are in fulltext and available to anyone on the web, while others may be available through the library's databases. Google Scholar does link to versions of papers and articles that are on publishers's web sites that require a fee to view; in this instance, use the library's interlibrary loan service If a site is asking you to purchase the the article. Be aware that not all search results in Google Scholar will provide scholarly material.
Google Scholar will also provide a list of references under each citation. These citations can lead you to other resources on your research topic.
Borrow Items from Interlibrary Loan
If Stonehill does not own the book, book chapter, or article you need, you can order it through our Interlibrary Loan Department. Please visit the Interlibrary Loan page on the library website to order materials or sign up for an account. Need help with a request or your Interlibrary Loan account? Contact email@example.com. Due to the possibility of mail delays, please order your items as soon as possible.