Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference Books?
For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the following encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference materials are for use only in the library, but you can scan or copy pages.
Because the study of sociology extends over many social issues the subject encyclopeidias listed below would be a starting point for your research.
Encyclopedia of crime and justice. by
Call Number: REF HV6017 .E52 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Articles on legal, political, and historical relationship of crime to society; including crime prevention, crime causation, and violence in the family, etc.
Encyclopedia of criminology by
Call Number: REF HV6017 .E5295 2005
Publication Date: 2005
An authoritative, multidisciplinary overview of traditional and contemporary topics in the field of criminology
Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior by
Call Number: REF HV6017 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2001
A comprehensive work in the field of criminology and sociology. Covers historical, conceptual, and theoretical issues, crime and juvenile delinquency, sexual deviance and self destructive behaviors and disvalue indentity.
Encyclopedia of law enforcement by
Call Number: REF HV7921 .E53 2005
Publication Date: 2005
Essays on all aspects of law enforcement ranging from analyses of historical events to future trends.
The Encyclopedia of Police Science by
Call Number: REF HV7901 .E53 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Entries include topics on American police, citizen complaints, youth gangs, terrorism and the war on drugs. Includes bibliographies.
Encyclopedia of Sociology by
Call Number: REF HM425 .E5 2000
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion in addition to articles topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Sage encyclopedia of criminal psychology by
Call Number: REF HV6080 .S33 2019
Publication Date: 2019-06-03
A modern, interdisciplinary resource aimed at students and professionals interested in the intersection of psychology (e.g., social, forensic, clinical), criminal justice, sociology, and criminology. The interdisciplinary study of human behavior in legal contexts includes numerous topics on criminal behavior, criminal justice policies and legal process, crime detection and prevention, eyewitness identification, prison life, offender assessment and rehabilitation, risk assessment and management, offender mental health, community reintegration, and juvenile offending.