LibGuides: Artificial Intelligence (AI): Finding Information on AI

Journal Databases

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing over 13,690 indexed and abstracted journals and nearly 9,100 full-text journals, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,450 journals.
Updated daily
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes both book chapters and journal articles available as PDFs. The journal archive includes the complete run of over 400 journal titles in 25 disciplines with a lag period of 3-5 years from the present.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of all Science magazine content published from October 1996 through the latest issue.
Nature This link opens in a new window
The leading international weekly journal of science from 1997 on.

Biological and Environmental Research Abstracts Database
U.S. Department of Energy's Office of Biological and Environmental Research (BER) conducts research in the areas of Climate and Environmental Sciences and Biological Systems Science. This database contains summaries of research projects supported by the program.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information from more than 4,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 10 million citations dating from 1966 to the present. New features allow for displays of free full text and Stonehill College holdings.
SciFinder This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is a research tool for students and faculty. It provides access to comprehensive chemical and related scientific information.
Once you are registered, SciFinder Scholar is available for use.

SciFinder Scholar - Register Here First Time Users

WorldWideScience This link opens in a new window
A global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals.
Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
A source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. It contains nearly 9,000 academic journals, more than twice the number of titles currently found Expanded Academic ASAP. Updated Daily.
Expanded Academic ASAP This link opens in a new window
Keyword searches of 'Artificial Intelligence' and 'chatGPT' led to a rich trove of articles in magazines, academic journals, news outlets, as well as books, images, and videos.

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to most of the library's databases is available. In order to use these resources from home, you will need to log in using your MyHill credentials - your username and password.

If you need assistance please contact the The Desk at 508-565-1313.

Bank of Bibliographies

ChatGPT and Generative Artificial Intelligence: Finding Information on A.I. Massachusetts Library System: https://guides.masslibsystem.org/ai/tools
ChatGPT and AI. Connecticut State Library: https://libguides.ctstatelibrary.org/chatGPT_AI
Artificial Intelligence & Higher Education: Chatbots, ChatGPT and Generative AI. DePauw University Libraries : https://libguides.depauw.edu/a_i
What I'm Reading on the Rise of Artificial Intelligence. https://barackobama.medium.com/what-im-reading-on-the-rise-of-artificial-intelligence-72e088918de2

Reports

U.S. Department of Education, Office of Educational Technology, Artificial Intelligence and Future of Teaching and Learning: Insights and Recommendations, Washington, DC, 2023. This report is available at https://tech.ed.go

New Horizons in Artificial Intelligence in Libraries by Edmund Balnaves (Editor); Leda Bultrini (Editor); Andrew Cox (Editor); Raymond Uzwyshyn (Editor) There is increasing use of AI technologies in many aspects of library operations and types of libraries. This ranges across public, national, research, academic and special libraries and includes public and reference services, automated classification, special and research collections, archives and customer service through chatbots and discovery systems. Vendors are also adding elements of AI in new and existing library products including search and discovery and research platforms and recommender systems. The role and impact of AI present opportunities and challenges and open future possibilities. IT plays a significant role in the development and use of AI technologies, but ethical considerations and wider organizational thinking must also play an equally significant role. AI's uses can have considerable impact and possible unintended consequences on library operations and services and wider societal implications. All of this is considered in this both pragmatic and wider philosophical text. This publication provides an opportunity to explore developing new library AI paradigms, including present use case practical implementation and opportunities on the horizon as well as current large ethics questions and needs for transparency, scenario planning, considerations and implications of bias as library AI systems are developed and implemented presently and for our collective future.
ISBN: 9783111335711
Publication Date: 2024-12-16

Finding Journal Articles When You Have A Citation

Already have a citation to an article? Use HillSearch to find journals and other periodicals the library has electronic access to or receives in paper. HillSeach also provides holdings on older print volumes.

Search by journal title to access the catalog record. The record lists the database(s) and years the journal is available electronically as well information on print holdings.

Borrow Items from Interlibrary Loan 2022-2023

If Stonehill does not own the book, book chapter, or article you need, you can order it through our Interlibrary Loan Department. Please visit the Interlibrary Loan page on the library website to order materials or sign up for an account. Need help with a request or your Interlibrary Loan account? Contact librarydeskgroup@stonehill.edu. Due to the possibility of mail delays, please order your items as soon as possible.

Books in library catalog

101 Creative Ideas to Use AI in Education by Chrissi Nerantzi, Sandra Abegglen, Marianna Karatsiori, Antonio Martinez-Arboleda (editors).
Publication Date: 2023
This is an open crowdsourced collection of 101 contributors, presenting a rich tapestry of collective thinking from 19 countries. All are focused on alternative uses and applications of Artificial Intelligence (AI) that could make a difference and create new learning, development, teaching and assessment opportunities.
Apocalyptic AI by Robert M. Geraci
Call Number: BL255.5 .G47 2010
ISBN: 9780195393026
Publication Date: 2010-03-05
Apocalyptic AI, the hope that we might one day upload our minds into machines or cyberspace and live forever, is a surprisingly wide-spread and influential idea, affecting everything from the world view of online gamers to government research funding and philosophical thought. Should we think of robots as persons? What kind of morality would intelligent robots espouse?Apocalyptic AI has become a powerful force in modern culture. In this superb volume, Robert Geraci shines a light on this belief system, revealing what it is and how it is changing society.
Artificial Intelligence by Blay Whitby
Call Number: Q335 .W4495 2003
ISBN: 1851683224
Publication Date: 2003-07-03
This engaging and accessible guide adopts a jargon-free approach to outline the history, development and the many different applications of Artifical Intelligence. Featuring examples from chess-playing computers to tiny robotic insects, it also discusses the social and ethical implications of AI and addresses the key controversies and debates in an unsensational manner.
Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence by Philip L. Frana (Editor); Michael J. Klein (Editor)
ISBN: 9781440853272
Publication Date: 2021-04-07
This authoritative reference work will provide readers with a complete overview of artificial intelligence (AI), including its historic development and current status, existing and projected AI applications, and present and potential future impact on the United States and the world.
Ethics in the AI, Technology, and Information Age by Michael Boylan (Editor); Wanda Teays (Editor)
Call Number: BJ59 .E865 2022
ISBN: 9781538160749
Publication Date: 2022-05-17
Today's unprecedented power of computing and AI makes technology's impact on society an essential area of ethical inquiry. This book investigates the relationship between technology and nature, ownership of technology, AI's replacement of human functions, privacy and cybersecurity, and the ethics of self-driving cars and drone warfare.
Machines Like Us by Ronald J. Brachman; Hector J. Levesque
Call Number: Q335 .B695 2022
ISBN: 9780262046794
Publication Date: 2022-05-17
How can we create artificial intelligence with broad, robust common sense rather than narrow, specialized expertise? Brachman and Levesque offer an accessible account of how common sense might be built into a machine. They analyze common sense in humans, explain how AI over the years has focused mainly on expertise, and suggest ways to endow an AI system with both common sense and effective reasoning. Finally, they consider the critical issue of how we can trust an autonomous machine to make decisions for us.
The Quest for Artificial Intelligence by Nils J. Nilsson
Call Number: Q335 .N55 2010
ISBN: 9780521116398
Publication Date: 2009-10-30
Artificial intelligence (AI) is a field within computer science that is attempting to build enhanced intelligence into computer systems. This book traces the history of the subject, from the early dreams of eighteenth-century (and earlier) pioneers to the more successful work of today's AI engineers.
AI Snake Oil by Arvind Narayanan; Sayash Kapoor
Call Number: Ebook
ISBN: 9780691249643
Publication Date: 2024-09-24
A trade book that argues that predictive AI is snake oil: it cannot and will never work. Artificial Intelligence is an umbrella term for a set of loosely related technologies. For instance, ChatGPT has little in common with algorithms that banks use to evaluate loan applicants. Both of these are referred to as AI, but in all of the salient ways - how they work, what they're used for and by whom, and how they fail - they couldn't be more different. Understanding the fundamental differences between AI technologies is critical for a technologically literate public to evaluate how AI is being used all around us.o detailed description available for "AI Snake Oil".
Unmasking AI by Joy Buolamwini
Call Number: Q334.7 .B86 2023
ISBN: 0593241835
Publication Date: 2023-10-31
To most of us, it seems like recent developments in artificial intelligence emerged out of nowhere to pose unprecedented threats to humankind. But to Dr. Joy Buolamwini, who has been at the forefront of AI research, this moment has been a long time in the making. In 'Unmasking AI,' Buolamwini explains how we've arrived at an era of AI harms and oppression, and what we can do to avoid its pitfalls.