LibGuides: MGT 357: The Role of Not-for-Profit Organizations in America: Online Resources

Suggested Web Resources

About America's Nonprofits
From the National Council of NonProfits.
BoardSource
"BoardSource is the recognized leader in nonprofit board leadership research, leadership, and support. We provide nonprofit board resources to increase board effectiveness and strengthen organizational impact, and serve as the national voice for inspired and effective board leadership."
Business Planning for Nonprofits
From the National Council of Nonprofits.
Form 990
From the Library of Congress. Includes information on how to read and locate 990 forms.
GuideStar
Look up a nonprofit and access the most complete data available.
How to Start a Nonprofit
From the National Council of Nonprofits.
How to Write a Nonprofit Business Plan
From the U.S. Chamber of Commerce.
IRS - Charities and Nonprofits
IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search
Find information about an organization's tax-exempt status and filings. You can use the online search tool or download specific data sets.
MA.gov Public Charities Filings
Search the public charities filing database maintained by the Attorney General's Office.
The Nonprofit Times
Online newspaper covering the business management of non-profit organizations in the United States. It includes information on fundraising, accounting, managerial issues and human resource management
Public Charities Filing Search
Search for charitable organizations that are registered with the Massachusetts Office of the Attorney General.
What Investors Look for in a Nonprofit Business Plan
From BoardSource: "In this informative guide, Dave Lavinsky shares how developing a business plan for your nonprofit organization forces you to think through your vision and develop a solid plan to achieve it. When done right, it should convince investors and donors that your organization can and will be successful and that they should be a part of that success."

Journals Available Through the Library

Suggested Databases

Business Source Premier
Provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management, and economics journals. This collection includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, and sales; it also includes company and country profiles.
Academic Search Complete
Multi-disciplinary database containing over 13,690 indexed and abstracted journals and nearly 9,100 full-text journals, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,450 journals.
Updated daily