Skip to Main Content

JRN 309A - Narrative Journalism: The Challenger Disaster

Knowing how to search for information is the first step in non-fiction narrative writing. Possessing the skills needed to search for primary source information is critical. Below are links to sites that can provide you with that type of data.

Books/Videos in MacPhaidin Library's Collection

Great Speeches. Volume 5, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Lyndon B. Johnson, Ronald Reagan, and Robert F. Kennedy [electronic resource (video)] /
To view video, please click on the "Access online video" link
We Interrupt This Broadcast by Joe Garner; Walter Cronkite (Foreword by)
ISBN: 1570713286
Publication Date: 1998-12-01

Newspaper Collections in MacPhaidin Library

Boston Globe 1980-present (full text - no images) This link opens in a new window
New York Times 1851-2014 This link opens in a new window
Provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New York Times 1985 - Current This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of The New York Times (from 1985 to one day before the current date).

Newspaper Collections Available Online

Google News Archive Search
This Google search platform allows users to search and explore information from historical archives dating back over 200 years.
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Produced by the Library of Congress.

Multimedia Resources

Your Librarian

Trish McPherson

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Library Room 109-B

508-565-1844

libguide_footer