Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the following encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library.
Copier and Scanner location
Reference books do not circulate and must be used in the library. Entries from these books can be scanned to your email accout. The scanner is located in the alcove next to the THE DESK.
Reference Books on Biology
Encyclopedia of Bioethics by
Call Number: REF QH332 .E52 2004
Publication Date: 1905-06-01
This new edition is a complete revision of the Dartmouth Medal-winning set last revised in 1995. Covering a wealth of topics on the ethics of health professions, animal research, population control and the environment, the set helps researchers to consider the impact of new scientific knowledge and its potential to harm or benefit present and future generations. All bibliographies have been updated and new entries added--from cloning, to issues of privacy or censorship on the Web, cell-stem research, same-sex marriage, privatization of water access, animal rights and much more.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology by
Call Number: REF QH540.4 .E52 1995
Publication Date: 1995-05-22
In today's world, knowledge about the environment and our relationship with it is extremely crucial. Academic Press proudly presents the Encyclopedia of Environmental Biology, a much-needed reference with detailed information on the environmental issues affecting you.
Encyclopedia of Human Biology by
Call Number: REF QP11 .E53 1997
Publication Date: 1997-09-11
The Encyclopedia of Human Biology, Second Edition provides complete coverage of the vast subject area of human biology--no other reference work available offers such a detailed and comprehensive treatment of the subject. Including more than 670 articles in 37 different biological fields, this fully revised edition features one of the most renowned editorial Advisory Boards ever assembled.
Van Nostrand's Scientific Encyclopedia by
Call Number: REF Q121 .V3 2008
Publication Date: 2008
The new, three-volume Tenth Edition contains articles contributed by industry experts and scholars worldwide. It comprises more than 10,000 entries and features hundreds of completely rewritten and re-referenced articles, as well as 2,500 completely new entries covering emerging technologies affecting genetics, global warming, communications, informatics, nanotechnology, and more.