Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Evaluating Online Sources
The Internet can provide access to much useful information; however, users should evaluate the quality of each web site consulted. Unlike print sources, there are no quality standards for publication.
As with print publications you should be aware of:
- Authorship and affiliations
- Author qualifications
- Bias and special interest
- Publication Information
Boston College's University Libraries has posted a list of questions to ask yourself when you evaluate a web site or web pages.
Suggested Internet Sources for Economics & Statistics
American Economic Association- AEA Journals
Full text access to AEA journals from 2012 on. Articles include data sets.
Asian Development Bank
Asian Development Bank disseminates recent key economic, financial, and social indicators compiled from regional members and other international sources.
Bank of England Statistics
The Bank compiles and publishes a range of monetary and financial statistics. These include domestic banking statistics, external finance statistics and international banking statistics.
The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations that advance three broad goals: strengthen American democracy; foster the economic and social welfare, security and opportunity of all Americans; and aecure a more open, safe, prosperous and cooperative international system.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Access economic statistics such as the gross domestic product (GDP), national and international accounts, trade, and industry.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Inflation & prices, employment/unemploymemt, pay & benefits, productivity, spending and time use, workplace injuries, and international and regional resources.
Corruption Perceptions Index
As part of the Transparancy International web site. the Corruption Perceptions Index scores countries on how corrupt their public sectors are seen to be in an effort to reduce corruption worldwide.
Ease of Doing Business Rankings
Economies are ranked on their ease of doing business, from 1 – 189. A high ranking on the ease of doing business index means the regulatory environment is more conducive to the starting and operation of a local firm. This index averages the country's percentile rankings on 10 topics, made up of a variety of indicators, giving equal weight to each topic.
Links to sites with economic time series data-some free, some pay
Economic History Services
This web site is produced by the Economic History Association which was founded in 1940. Its purpose is to encourage and promote teaching, research, and publication on every phase of economic history, broadly defined, and to encourage and assist in the preservation and administration of the materials for research in economic history.
Economic Research and Data from the Federal Reserve
Economists at the Federal Reserve Board conduct innovative research on a broad range of topics in economics and finance. In addition to presenting their research to policymakers, Board economists share their research at academic conferences and publish it in peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly outlets.
Economist Intelligence Unit
From the Economist. Statistical information can be search by country or industry.
European statistics from the European Union.
The Federal Reserve and the Financial Crisis
In March 2012, Chairman Ben S. Bernanke delivered a four-part lecture series about the Federal Reserve and the financial crisis that emerged in 2007. The series began with a lecture on the origins and missions of central banks, followed by a lecture that discussed the role and actions of the Federal Reserve in the period after World War II. In the final two lectures, the Chairman reviewed some of the causes of, and policy responses to, the recent financial crisis, focusing specifically on the actions of the Federal Reserve.
The lectures were offered as part of an undergraduate course at the George Washington University School of Business.
provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information.
FinWeb.com is an independent source for personal finance information, education and advice. We have thousands of articles written to help individuals, families and small businesses better manage their money.
Free the World - Index of Economic Freedom
Their annual report, Economic Freedom of the World, uses 42 distinct pieces of data to measure economic freedom in 141 nations.
Gallup organization has measured and tracked the public's attitudes concerning political, social, and economic issues, including sensitive or controversial subjects.
The Heritage Foundation is the nation’s most broadly supported public policy research institute, with hundreds of thousands of individual, foundation and corporate donors.
Historical Statistics of the United States
A definitive reference work containing more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
Inter-American Development Bank
The Bank has compiled and organized over 1,000 searchable statistics and indicators for countries in Latin America and the Caribbean, creating a comprehensive dataset for the region.
International Monetary Fund - IMF
"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 187 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
Developed by Minnesota Population Center (MPC) this demographic data resource provides population data to thousands of researchers, policymakers, teachers, and students. All MPC data are available free over the internet.
Maddison Project launches an updated version of the original Maddison dataset. The update incorporates much of the latest research in the field, and presents new estimates of economic growth in the world economic between AD 1 and 2010.
Numbeo is the world’s largest database of user contributed data about cities and countries worldwide. Numbeo provides current and timely information on world living conditions including cost of living, housing indicators, health care, traffic, crime and pollution.
Web site of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. This site has some free statistical resoruces, but other pages of the web site require a subscription to access.
Penn World Table
The Penn World Table provides purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries/territories for some or all of the years 1950-2010.
RePEc: Research Papers in Economics
Working papers of varying quality. Often students are best served by following up on the author(s) to find published work by that person - sometimes older working papers have been subsequently revised and published. Some authors may make their articles (or a near-final version) available on their personal or departmental web pages.
Interactive tool generating tables and graphics detailing annual and quarterly year-to-date U.S. goods trade data from 2002 to the most recently available quarter based upon user-specified options.
World Bank Group
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.
World Development Indicators
World Development Indictors is the primary World Bank collection of development indicators, compiled from officially-recognized international sources. It presents the most current and accurate global development data available, and includes national, regional and global estimates.
World Trade Organization
the World Trade Organization (WTO) deals with the rules of trade between nations at a global or near-global level. Their site contains documents, statistics and reports relating to global trade.
U.S. Census Bureau Data
The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy
American Community Survey Data Portal
The American Community Survey (ACS) is an ongoing survey that provides vital information on a yearly basis about our nation and its people. Information from the survey generates data that help determine how more than $675 billion in federal and state funds are distributed each year.
Internal Revenue Service- Statistics on Income (SOI)
The Revenue Act of 1916 mandated the annual publication of statistics related to “the operations of the internal revenue laws” as they affect:
All forms of businesses
Investments abroad and foreign investments in the United States
FRED St Louis Fed Data Site
Download, graph, and track 504,000 US and international time series from 87 sources.
Zillow Housing Price Data
Home Value Data, Rental Data, Other Metrics, Forecasts, Negative Equity and Affordability
World Factbook by U.S. Central Intelligence Agency
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: a variety of world, regional, country, ocean, and time zone maps; Flags of the World; and a Country Comparison function that ranks the country information and data in more than 75 Factbook fields.