Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Aids / Web Sites
Government Printing Office
Find the lastest GPO Services and products. Link to the GPO bookstore.
United States Code
This link is through the FDsys database. There are search options available on the menu located on the left side of the page.
United States House of Representatives
Official link to the House of Representatives, United States Congress. Find your Representative, watch live House floor debates and speeches.
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Formally known as THOMAS, Legislative information from the Library of Congress. This database covers the 93rd Congress (1973 - 1974) until the present day. Bills, Resolutions, the Congressional Record, Committee Reports, and Voting Records can be found using this database. Not all of the publications are full text, but is a great tool to locate citations, the first step in locating the document.
Code of Federal Regulations
From goinfo.gov Regulations issued by the federal government, organized by categories generally corresponding to the U.S. Code.
Federal Register from govInfo.gov
The complete Federal Register from 1936 to the present via govInfo. The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. Cited as FR.
govinfo provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
United States Senate
Official link to the United State Senate. The Senate web page has statistical information, a virtual reference desk to answer your questions about Congress, and links to legislation sources.
USA.gov is the U.S. government's official search engine. Features links to thousands of specific federal, state and local government sites, as well as pages dedicated to intergovernmental and e-government practices and solutions. Furthermore, it provides a single gateway to government information helpfully arranged by topic, as well as by organization.
Finding Aids / Print Indexes
Finding Aids / Electronic Indexes
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Users can search by authoring agency, title, subject, and general key word, or click on "Advanced Search" for more options. At present time, the records begin with items published from 1976 until the present.
GPO Monthly Catalog This link opens in a new window
Covers all types of U.S. government documents, including Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. This is a FirstSearch database.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Includes thousands of libraries' catalogs. If Stonehill does not own a book or periodical title, and you need to see whom in Massachusetts or the world might own it, use WorldCat.