Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Budget of the United States
Budget of the United States Government
This link includes the Budget, Analytical Perspectives, Appendix, and Historical Tables. The electionic version of the Budget begins with 1996, earlier volumes beginning with 1976 are located in the print collection
Department of Agriculture
United States Department of Agriculture - Economic Research Service
Access national and international data, reports, maps, and charts on the topic of food, agriculture, nutrition and the business of farming and food.
Agricultural Statistics is published each year to meet the diverse need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns. Onlilne from 1994. The library has print from 1974.
Food and Nutrition Service
Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program SNAP
Department of Commerce
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Access economic statistics such as the gross domestic product (GDP), national and international accounts, trade, and industry.
Economic Census of the United States
The economic census profiles U.S. national and local economies every 5 years. The census consists of 19 different sectors. Mining, Real Estate, Manufacturing , Wholesale Trade and other areas of the the U. S. ecomony.
Economic Indicator Database from Census Bureau
Statistics from 12 economic indicators can be accessed here. Create tables or time series charts. Arranged by itme, time period and other dimensions using drop-down menus
The Economics and Statistics Administration (ESA) releases 12 monthly and quarterly Principal Federal Economic Indicators collected by its constituent bureaus: the U.S. Census Bureau and the Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA). Businesses rely heavily upon these indicators to make decisions every day. In their public comments, the Secretary and ESA’s Under Secretary and Chief Economist put the indicators into a national and global economic context.
National Climate Data Center
NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center (NCDC) maintains the world's largest climate data archive and provides climatological services and data to every sector of the United States economy and to users worldwide.
Department of Defense
The Department of Defense is such a large and complex government department the statistics are distributed over each branch of the military and the numerous military programs. There is no one web page that has the appropriate resources for statistical research. Below are two sources that may assist you locate the correct agency in the Department of Defense.
Provides a variety of information and statistical material about the Department of Defense - its people, organization, equipment, and funding.
National Security and Veterans Affairs - Statistical Abstract of the United States
This is a link to the 2012 Statistical Abstract of the United States. Section 10. National Security and Veterans's Affairs. This is an excellent starting place to locate statistical information on military budgets, the different branches of the military, military installations, military personal and veterans' benefits. The Statistical Abstract was first published in 1878 and all volumes are available online.
Department of Energy
Open Energy Data
This web site from Energy.gov collects, analyzes, and disseminates independent and impartial energy information to promote sound policymaking, efficient markets, and public understanding of energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment.
Department of Health and Human Services
CDC Data and Statistics
Search by topic from the web page. You can get access to many of the CDC resources from this web page.
Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research -- an easy-to-use, menu-driven system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services - Statistics
Access the CMS Data Navigator to search data set by program, topic, geography and document. This web site also has links to statistics, trends and reports.
National Center for Health Statistics - CDC
Access health statistics by data collections such as Vital Records, topic, publications or use data tools.
Statistics on Aging
From the Department of Health and Human Services. You can access Older Americans 2016, Aging Integrated Databases, Census data, Key Indicators of Well Being and other resources.
A collection of vital statistics products including tables, data files, and reports that allow users to access and examine vital statistics and population data interactively.
Department of Homeland Security
The Yearbook is a compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during the specified fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis, applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions.
United States Department of Homeland Security Data
DHS and its components provide access to statistical reports and machine readable data sets. Subjects include immigration, FEMA public assistance funded projects summary, FEMA disaster delarations summaries, Intellectual property rights andmarine casualty and pollution.
Department of Housing and Urban Development
American Housing Survey
The AHS provides current information on a wide range of housing subjects, including size and composition of the nation’s housing inventory, vacancies, fuel usage, physical condition of housing units, characteristics of occupants, equipment breakdowns, home improvements, mortgages and other housing costs, persons eligible for and beneficiaries of assisted housing, home values, and characteristics of recent movers.
Department of the Interior
The Minerals Yearbook is an annual publication that reviews the mineral and material industries of the United States and foreign countries. The Yearbook contains statistical data on materials and minerals and includes information on economic and technical trends and development. The Minerals Yearbook includes chapters on approximately 90 commodities and over 175 countries. The library's print collection begins with 1956.
National Park Service
Park service statistics. Search by state or park name.
Department of Justice
Bureau of Justice Statistics
The BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.
Department of Labor
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Inflation & prices, employment/unemploymemt, pay & benefits, productivity, spending and time use, workplace injuries, and international and regional resources.
Department of State
Report of the Visa Office is an annual report providing statistical information on immigrant and non-immigrant visa issuances by consular offices, as well as information on the use of visa numbers in numerically limited categories.
Department of Transportation
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Topics covered are airlines and airports, congestion, connectivity, economics and finance, energy and environment, and freight data and statistics. This web site also has information on passenger travel, safety and trends. The National Household Travel Survey is also available through this link.
Department of the Treasury
Department of Veterans' Affairs
National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics
The National Center for Veterans Analysis and Statistics (NCVAS) supports planning, analysis, and decision-making activities through the collection, validation, analysis, and dissemination of key statistics on Veteran population and VA programs.
Social Security Adminstration
Online Statistical Collections
ALFRED from the Federal Reserve in St. Louis allows you to retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history.
Census - Data Access Tools
Choose the data tab on top of the page for access to the Historical Census and Economic Census.
Includes searchable catalogs that provide access to "raw" datasets and various tools. In the "raw" data catalog, you may access data in XML, Text/CSV, KML/KMZ, Feeds, XLS, or ESRI Shapefile formats.
Economic Research and Data from the Federal Reserve
Economists at the Federal Reserve Board conduct innovative research on a broad range of topics in economics and finance. In addition to presenting their research to policymakers, Board economists share their research at academic conferences and publish it in peer-reviewed journals and other scholarly outlets.
Federal Election Commission
In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.
Federal Reserve Archive. Various types of publications that are primarily statistical in nature, including books, magazine series, and true statistical releases.
Federal Reserve Economic Data. You can download, graph, and track
61,000 US and international time series from 49 sources.
Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878 - 2012
The Statistical Abstract of the United States spans the years 1878 to 2012. The Abstract has summary tables of the most important United States statistics. The 2012 was the last volume printed by the Bureau of the Census. The newer editions are available in print Statistical Abstract of the United States - ProQuest.