Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Why Use Reference Books?
For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the following encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference materials are for use only in the library, but you can scan or copy pages.
Because the study of sociology extends over many social issues the subject encyclopeidias listed below would be a starting point for your research.
Print Subject Encyclopedias Located in the Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of criminology and deviant behavior by
Call Number: REF HV6017 .E53 2001
Publication Date: 2001
A comprehensive work in the field of criminology and sociology. Covers historical, conceptual, and theoretical issues, crime and juvenile delinquency, sexual deviance and self destructive behaviors and disvalue indentity.
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America by
Call Number: Reference Collection HQ76.3.U5 E53 2004
Publication Date: 2003
This three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.
Encyclopedia of social theory by
Call Number: REF HM425 .E47 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The first section, examines the classical tradition. Included here are critical discussions of Comte, Spencer, Marx, Durkheim, Weber, Simmel, Mead, Freud, Mannheim and classical feminist thought, demonstrating not only the critical significance of classical writings, but also their continuing relevance. The second section moves on to examine the terrain of contemporary social theory. The contributors discuss the significance and strengths and weaknesses of structural functionalism, recent Marxian theory, critical theory, symbolic interactionism, phenomenology, exchange theory, contemporary feminism, ethnomethodology, rational choice theory, figurational sociology, the thought of Foucault, multiculturalism and postmodernism. The final section looks at the key debates in current social theory. Questions relating to the body, sexuality, globalism, nationalism, socialism, knowledge, norms, ethics, positivism, post-structuralism, consumption, metatheorizing and cultural studies are fully discussed.
Encyclopedia of U.S. labor and working-class history by
Call Number: REF HD8066 .A78 2006
Publication Date: 2007
A 3 volume set provides sweeping coverage of U.S. labor history. Containing over 650 entries, the Encyclopedia encompasses labor history from the colonial era to the present. Articles focus on states, regions, periods, economic sectors and occupations, race-relations, ethnicity, and religion, concepts and developments in labor economics, environmentalism, globalization, legal history, trade unions, strikes, organizations, individuals, management relations, and government agencies and commissions.
Encyclopedia of Sociology by
Call Number: REF HM425 .E5 2000
Publication Date: 2000-11-16
Classic reference has been updated to reflect many changes in society and in the field of sociology in recent years. Articles covering core issues such as race, poverty, violence, economics, pregnancy and abortion in addition to articles topics such as the Internet, privacy and epidemiology.
Dictionaries and Research Guides