Skip to main content

Sociology

How to Navigate This Guide

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for sociology. The home page of this guide will provide you with information about Reference hours and how you can contact the librarians or make an appointment research assistance.

Finding Articles - This page will explain how to locate articles in the library in addition to an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for sociology. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and Interlibrary Loan via ILLiad.

Books and Videos  - This page will give you access to our library catalog, HillSearch and WorldCat. Use HillSearch to locate books and additional items. The WorldCat database contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. Use this in conjunction with our Interlibrary Loan service to request items not available in the MacPhaidin library.

eBooks - eBooks can be downloaded to a number of electronic devices. Convenient and mobile, they are easily accessed through HillSeach.

Web Sites - This page provides links to reputable collections and web sites related to the subject area of this LibGuide.

Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. They are located in the Reference section on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library.

Streaming Media - Searchable access to streaming videos that can be viewed anywhere. There are three different searchable collections.

Citing Your Research – This page had information on how to cite resources using the American Sociological Association citation style. This will also give you a link to RefWorks, an online citation tool.

Contact Us

In accordance with best practices to help stop the spread of COVID-19, the library is closed until it is safe to reopen.

While there is no physical access to the library, librarians continue to work full-time, remotely.

  Phone, chat, and email are monitored:
 

  • Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
    ‚Äč

Students who wish to meet virtually with a reference librarian can make an appointment using LibCal. Librarians offer convenient meeting times and will be using ZOOM for the virtual meeting. If you do not see a convenient time in the LibCal schedule, please email a librarian directly to schedule an appointment.

 Text us at 508.709.0223

  Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

  Email us  

 Make a Virtual Reference appointment

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility