Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rise of Industrial America Images
Rise of Industrial America Resources
Library of Congress: Digital Collections
Historical collections for the National Digital Library, from the Library of Congress. Provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
American Presidency Project
This collection, from the University of California, Santa Barbara, contains more than 85,000 documents pertaining to the presidency. The items span all eras of American history and range from the public papers of George Washington to the victory speech of Barack Obama.
Avalon Project at Yale Law School: Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy
The Avalon Project provides access to digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Its coverage spand from 4000bce to the 21st century.
The Evolution of the Conservation Movement: 1850-1920
This collection, from the Library of Congress, provides access to digitized copies of books, pamphlets, government documents, manuscripts, prints, photographs and audiovisual footage.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
This collection, from the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, features images, texts and maps that illustrate the African-American migration experience.
Life Magazine Photo Archive
The Life photo archive, hosted by Google's Image Search, features millions of photographs from the magazine's archives. You can search the database keyword or by category. Those categories include: time period, people, places, events, sports and culture.
Moving Images Archives
The Prelinger Archvies, housed at The Internet Archive, represents a collection of tens of thousands of advertising,educational, industrial and amateur films.
National Archives and Records Administration
From the NARA website: "The National Archives was established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, but its major holdings date back to 1775. They capture the sweep of the past: slave ship manifests and the Emancipation Proclamation..."
National Indian Law Library
This digital public law library, a project of The Native American Rights Fund, is devoted to Federal native American and tribal law.
The Opper Project
Named for American Cartoonist Frederick Burr Opper, the items in this collection span decades of American history, from 1875-1932.
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including: 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, 1,200 photographs. This site is part of Harvard University Library’s Open Collections Program.