Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Depression/World War II images
Depression/World War II Resources
Battle Lines: Letters from America's Wars
From the website: "This online exhibition of letters and audio, created by the Gilder Lehrman Institute and the Legacy Project, features correspondence from over 200 years of American conflicts, ranging from the Revolution to the war in Iraq.
Experiencing War: Serving in Silence
This collection, part of the Library of Congress's Veterans History Project presents the stories of gau service men and women who served their country " while balancing the need to keep their private lives private."
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
This collection, from the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, features images, texts and maps that illustrate the African-American migration experience.
Moving Images Archives
The Prelinger Archvies, housed at The Internet Archive, represents a collection of tens of thousands of advertising,educational, industrial and amateur films.
National Archives and Records Administration
From the NARA website: "The National Archives was established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, but its major holdings date back to 1775. They capture the sweep of the past: slave ship manifests and the Emancipation Proclamation..."
Picturing the Century : Galleries
This collection from the National Archives tells the story of the 20th century United States in pictures. Among the images you'll find here are pictures of an Easter Parade on New York's 5th Avenue in 1900 and one of President Bill Clinton playing a saxophone.
Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including: 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, 1,200 photographs. This site is part of Harvard University Library’s Open Collections Program.