Primary Sources/World History: Africa

From the Website: The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s."

This site provides access to an archive of speeches made by ANC officials in their capacity as ANC members and as government officials from 1912 to the present.

This site, from Michigan State University, provides a portal to multimedia collections about Africa.

From the website: "
On this site you will find videos relating to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi enriched with synchronized transcripts, searchable index terms, and maps. Videos include testimonies of Genocide survivors and perpetrators, Gacaca Justice System court proceedings, and remembrance ceremonies. About the Genocide Archive of Rwanda."

From the website: "(This collection) contains photographs and other documentation from the original Harvard University - Boston Museum of Fine Arts Expedition (1904 to 1947), from recent MFA fieldwork, and from other expeditions, museums, and universities around the world."

Created by the history department at Indiana's Hanover College, this resource provides access to historical texts than span the time period between antiquity to the 20th century.

This collection, from the New York Public Library's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture, features images, texts and maps that illustrate the African-American migration experience.

This site, from Fordham University, is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use.

From the website: "Our aim is to locate, document, digitise, and provide access to all archival materials related to Nelson Mandela."

From Tufts University, the Perseus Project features digital collections of materials in the humanities. Topics are wide-ranging and include the classics and the English Renaissance. The classics collection contains primary and secondary texts and more.

This collection, from Yale University, presents approximately 5000 pictures of African art published before 1921.

From the Bibliothèque Commémorative Mama Haidara in Timbuktu, Mali, a collection of 19th century manuscripts relating to slavery and manumission in Timbuktu. The materials, in Arabic, provide documentation on Africans in slavery in Muslim societies.

South African History Online's website provides access to a vast archive of articles, biographies, books, photographs, documents and audio and video material.

The South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) was set up by the Government of National Unity to help deal with what happened under apartheid. Reports, transcripts of TRC hearings and other materials are available on this site.

From the website: "The Sudan Archive at Durham
The Sudan Archive was founded in 1957, the year after Sudanese independence, to collect and preserve the papers of administrators from the Sudan Political Service, missionaries, soldiers, business men, doctors, agriculturalists, teachers and others who had served or lived in the Sudan during the Anglo-Egyptian Condominium (1898-1955)."

From the website: "The Voices from the Rwanda Tribunal collection contains 49 video interviews conducted with personnel from the United Nations International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR). Collected in 2008, these interviews reveal the challenges of striving for justice and reconciliation after genocide."

The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.