Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Cassell's German Dictionary Thumb-indexed edition This thorough revision of Cassell's long-renowned German Dictionary incorporates recent developments in English and German to bring it completely up to date, and supplies more idiomatic phrases and illustrative examples than ever before. This new edition Is over 300 pages longer than the previous edition Gives phonetic translations of German keywords and has a key to German pronunciation Indicates whether German verb prefixes are separable or not Has a bibliography of technical and specialist dictionaries Includes proper names in the main text Has a new clearer lay-out with entries in strictly alphabetical sequence
Call Number: REF PF3640 .B453 2002
Pocket German Dictionary A convenient reference for writers, students, and businesspeople;anyone who needs the right word at the right time. Poetry, prose, and a nine-letter pizza toping . . . When you're looking for a word, pull it out of one of our Pockets.
Call Number: REF PF3640 .L36 2000
Using German Vocabulary This textbook provides a comprehensive and thematically structured vocabulary for undergraduate students of German. Divided into twenty manageable units, it covers vocabulary relating to the physical, social, cultural, economic, and political worlds. Word lists are graded into three levels reflecting difficulty and usefulness, and are accompanied by extensive exercises designed to reinforce work with the lists that is suitable for classroom and private study. Clearly organized and accessible, the volume will meet the needs of a variety of courses in any undergraduate program.
Call Number: REF PF3445 .F34 2004
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture With more than 1,100 entries written by an international group of over 150 contributors, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture brings together myriad strands of social, political and cultural life in the post-1945 German-speaking world. With a unique structure and format, an inclusive treatment of the concept of culture, and coverage of East, West and post-unification Germany, as well as Austria and Switzerland, the Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture is the first reference work of its kind. Containing longer overviews of up to 2,000 words, as well as shorter factual entries, cross-referencing to other relevant articles, useful further reading suggestions and extensive indexing, this highly useable volume provides the scholar, teacher, student or non-specialist with an astonishing breadth and depth of information.
Call Number: REF DD290.26 .E53 2002
The Oxford Companion to German Literature Hailed upon its publication a decade ago as "an impressive work" (Library Journal) and "a boon to dabblers in German literature who up to now have had to make do without a suitable frame of reference" (The Economist), The Oxford Companion to German Literature has now been thoroughly revised and updated. Mary Garland has added many new entries on contemporary authors and on literary trends in the German Democratic Republic, as well as entries on authors whose reputations have grown in the past ten years. In addition, Garland has brought up to date the entries for living authors and corrected bibliographical information given within entries. As in the earlier edition, the aim throughout has been to balance the needs of the academic user consulting the Companion for enlightenment on a specific topic with the needs of the general reader seeking a companionable introduction to the German literary achievement. Thus the Companion presents factual information in easily accessible, readable form. Within a single alphabetical sequence, the Companion features not only concise biographies of writers but also synopses of works; entries on literary movements and styles; accounts of important figures and events in history, politics, and the arts and sciences; and many entries relating to the intellectual, social, and political background of Germany. The Companion covers the whole span of literature in German from the earliest records of the eighth century to today and includes Austria and Switzerland within its scope.
Call Number: REF PT41 .G3 1986