Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
McGraw-Hill's Chinese Dictionary and Guide to 20,000 Essential Words A breakthrough bilingual dictionary that makes finding the right Chinese character a breeze When he surveyed his students, authorQuanyu Huang found that only two outof 300 used a Chinese dictionary. Theirmain obstacle is how existing dictionariesare organized; either a user needs to know the "radical"of a character, how to recognize or count writingstrokes, or how a character is pronounced. In McGraw-Hill's Chinese Dictionary and Guide to 20,000 EssentialWords the author overcomes this problem with hisunique "broken marks" method. Each character is comprisedof different marks separated by a physical spaceor sharp change of direction at the end of a mark.Count these marks, and you can locate theChinese character you need in less than a minute. This dictionary and guide will also be a perfect complement to your AP Chinese studies.
Call Number: REF 0071629246
Merriam-Webster's Chinese-English Dictionary 12,000 headwords, 21,000 references and 27,500 translations
Call Number: REF PL1455.M46 2010
Concise Chinese-English Romanized Dictionary This is the most up-to-date Mandarin Chinese Dictionary on the market Tuttle Concise Chinese Dictionary has both Chinese to English and English to Chinese sections. It's compact size allows for easy transport without limiting the content. This Mandarin dictionary is perfect for Chinese language students, or business people and tourists traveling to China who wish to learn Chinese. It contains over 25,000 words and expressions (including all the required words for the official HSK Chinese Proficiency Examination), carefully selected to cover all important aspects of life and commerce in China. In addition, extensive information on Chinese grammar and Mandarin pronunciation are included. This dictionary contains the following features: 25,000 Chinese words and expressions. Up-to-date local Chinese slang and idioms. A guide to Mandarin pronunciation and Chinese Grammar. An explanation of Mandarin tones and syllables. An introduction to writing Chinese and stroke order. Radical and stroke indexes for easy reference. All the Chinese vocabulary included in the HSK language examinations. Romanized forms (hanyu pinyin) including tones for accurate pronunciation. Extensive notes with detailed tips on usage and social context. Parts of speech, common phrases and idiomatic expressions. Other dictionaries in this bestselling series you might be interested in include:Concise Japanese Dictionary, Concise Korean Dictionary, andConcise Vietnamese Dictionary.
Call Number: REF PL1455 .Q86 2007
Historical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China When the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) seized power in October 1949 China was one of the poorest nations in the world. In fact, it was so weak it had been conquered by Japan, a country one-tenth its size, a decade earlier. Now, more than fifty years later, the People's Republic of China (PRC) is an emerging economic, political, and military superpower with the world's fastest growing economy and largest population (1.3 billion in 2005). A member of the United Nations Security Council since the early 1970s and a nuclear power, China wields enormous influence in the world community. The second edition of the Historical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China contains more than 400 cross-referenced dictionary entries on individual topics spanning China's political, economic, and social system along with short biographies on important figures--from politicians to writers and movie directors--who have shaped Chinese history during the period of Communist rule from 1949 to 2006. Supplementing the entries are a chronology, an introduction, charts outlining the structure of the Chinese government, and a bibliography of works in English, making this a superb resource for college and high school students needing a quick reference on contemporary China.
Call Number: REF DS777.55 .S835 2007
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia This encyclopedia is an overview of American law covering historical and modern terms, concepts, events, movements, cases and persons significant to US law. Entries range from brief definitions of legal jargon to examinations of courtroom procedure, from explanations of complex topics such as civil rights to biographies of standout attorneys, from analyses of controversial issues such as gun control to transcripts of crucial Supreme Court decisions.
Call Number: REF DS4 .L48 2002
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China by
Call Number: REF DS705 .C35 1991
Publication Date: 1991
Land and resources -- Peoples -- Society -- The continuity of China [history] -- The mind and senses of China -- Art and architecture -- Science and technology : historical perspective.