Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Library Databases
Below you'll find a list of the databases used most frequently for the study of languages, literature and culture. Many of these databases, like the HillSearch Catalog, will enable you to limit your search to materials published in a particular language as is illustrated in the example below from Academic Search Complete.
In this example, after conducting a search, choose "show more" under the "limit to" header on the left-hand side of the page.
You will be presented with a selection of search options, including specifying langage, as indicated in the image below.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes both book chapters and journal articles available as PDFs. The journal archive includes the complete run of over 400 journal titles in 25 disciplines with a lag period of 3-5 years from the present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to research literature in more than 3500 scholarly journals, monographic series, books, collections of essays and dissertations in the fields of modern languages and literatures, linguistics and folklore. Coverage is from 1963 to the present.
Project Muse Standard Collection This link opens in a new window
Access to nearly 250 scholarly journals. Covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others. Best viewed in FireFox.