Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Neuroscience: Finding Books

HillSearch

Search the library's print and electronic collections of books, ebooks, videos, and more:
 
 
HillSearch allows you to limit your search using "facets." Once you complete a search, you will see a list of links along the left-hand side of your serach results. To limit your results to a location in the library, a particular format, or language, chose the corresponding facet to limit your search results.
 
More information about using HillSearch is available HERE.
 

Search WorldCat Via MacPhaidin Library

 Click to search WorldCat

Use WorldCat to search thousands of libraries' catalogs. You can serach by title, author, keyword and other search options. If Stonehill does not own a book or other item you would like to use, you can discover whom in Massachusetts or the world might own it. WorldCat has an interactive link with our interlibrary loan system.

Google Books

Google Books can be used to search the full text of books from title to index. You can search for certain phases in a book, search the index and get a preview of the book's content. If you find a relevant book you can download a complete book if it is in the public domain. You can also request books that are relevant to your research by using the library's interlibrary loan system, Illiad.

Google Book Search

eBrary

eBrary is a multidisciplinary resource that holds over 50,000 academic titles and is constantly expanding!  Although most e-books can be downloaded, there are some titles not available for download as a restriction put forth by the respective publisher.  eBrary offers our patrons the ability to download e-books in either a PDF file format or through Adobe Digital Editions.  Bear in mind that restrictions on how much content can be downloaded, loan periods, and access is set forth by the publisher and is not customizable.

Before you get started, you'll want to make sure you create your own personal ebrary account or sign in to an existing personal ebrary account.  This gives you the ability to save custom searches and create a "bookshelf" of titles you wish to download.

Have you downloaded Adobe Digital Editions yet?  Be sure you do if you wish to download full e-books from e-brary!

 

How to Download a Book from eBook Collection (EBSCOHost)

To get started with accessing and downloading e-books from the eBook Collection, you will need to create a username and password with the eBook Collection:

  1. Open the eBook Collection and click the Sign In button in the top toolbar towards the right.
  2. If you've previously created an account, enter your username and password.  If not, click Create A New Account towards the top.
  3. Fill out all the necessary information to create a username and password.

To download e-books, you will need to have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer with a valid Adobe ID.  If you haven't downloaded Adobe Digital Editions or created an Adobe ID yet, you can do so by referencing the Adobe Digital Editions page.

Further assistance with accessing and downloading e-books is available from the eBook Collection Support.

You can reference the following videos from EBSCO that provide further information about downloading e-books from the eBook Collection:

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility