Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Free Streaming Video Resources
Archive of American Television
Over 800 oral history interviews (over 4,000 hours) with American television legends.
Watch thousands of free online documentaries, spanning across all genres
Freedocumentaries.org streams full-length documentary films free of charge, with no registration needed. For several films, we even offer the ability to watch trailers or to download the actual film. (from website).
The award winning documentaries from PBS
New York Times Site License / NYTimes Pass This link opens in a new window
The Academic Site License using NYTimes Group Passes provides Stonehill College users with full access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes.com smartphone app using any device. Access all current content, including articles, videos, images, and other multi-media content, available on NYTimes.com.
Create a NYTimes.com account using your Stonehill email address. If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your school email address, you may log in with those credentials. Once activated, your NYTimes.com Group Pass can be used from any location for the duration of your license period.
Archives of C-SPAN broadcasts back to 1987. Includes coverage of every House and Senate session and every White House press briefing and other acts of official Washington.
Streaming Media Available from the MacPhaidin Library
The MacPhaidin library subscribed to thousands of titles of streaming media content. Over 10,000 video titles can be found using the HillSearch Catalog. When searching for a title simply use the facet on the left hand column to limit your results to Online Video.
Our titles will play on a wide variety of devices and are available on campus and off-campus when logged into the Stonehill Network. To access video from off campus you need to authenticate to the system using the barcode from your Hillcard and a PIN that you have created. For more information go to the Help with Off-Campus Access web page.
To explore the collections of Streaming Video use the links listed below:
Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
This Infobase streaming video database includes nearly 600 Feature films including The Revenant, Hidden Figures, 12 Years a Slave, Say Anything and hundreds of others.
Films On Demand (Streaming Video) This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription from Infobase providing unlimited access to thousands of videos in 30+ subjects, including the humanities, science, business, literature, health, and more.
Kanopy Video Collection (Streaming Video) This link opens in a new window
Kanopy provides access to streaming videos for use in your classroom or assigned viewing. Films are licensed through Kanopy for 12 months. Please contact The Deks if you need access to a Kanopy film for your courses.
Kanopy is a distributor of films from BBD, PBS, Media Education Foundation and many other production companies and independent filmmakers. The Kanopy collection consists of documentaries and educational videos in the following subject areas; the arts, business, education (K-12), global studies and languages, health, media & communications, sciences, social sciences and technical training. In addition, there are 64 languages represented in the collection. Videos can be clipped and transcripts are provided.
Swank (Streaming Media) This link opens in a new window
Swank provides access to theatrical films selected by faculty for their courses. Swank includes feature films, documentaries and foreign films from the largest movie studios, including Warner Bros., Paramount, NBCUniversal, Columbia Pictures, Lions Gate, MGM, Miramax and many more.