Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
International Court -Hague
The International Criminal Court (ICC) investigates and, where warranted, tries individuals charged with the gravest crimes of concern to the international community: genocide, war crimes and crimes against humanity.
United Nations - Home Page
The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945. It is currently made up of 193 Member States. The mission and work of the United Nations are guided by the purposes and principles contained in its founding Charter.
Research Guides - Dag Hammarskyold - UN Library
Use this site to search for documents and publications. You can also search the United Nations' library for books, fulltext articles.
Center for Justice and Accountabililty
CJA’s mission is to deter torture, war crimes, crimes against humanity, and other severe human rights abuses around the world through innovative litigation, policy, and transitional justice strategies.
CJA was founded in 1998 on the principle, first used during the Nuremberg trials after World War II, that certain crimes are so egregious that they represent offenses against all humankind. These crimes include genocide, crimes against humanity, extrajudicial killing and torture.
International Center for Transitional Justice
ICTJ works to help societies in transition address legacies of massive human rights violations and build civic trust in state institutions as protectors of human rights. In the aftermath of mass atrocity and repression, we assist institutions and civil society groups—the people who are driving and shaping change in their societies—in considering measures to provide truth, accountability, and redress for past abuses.(from website)
International Justice Resource Center - Truth and Reconciliation Commission
The International Justice Resource Center (IJRC) provides advocates, civil society organizations, and victims of human rights abuses with the information and resources they need to effectively use international legal protections – including advocacy before human rights monitoring bodies and complaints before international and domestic courts – to bring about justice and accountability for human rights violations. IJRC provides educational materials, training workshops, and advice to individuals and groups around the world.
Political Apologies and Reparation
Our purpose is to provide access to documents about political apologies and reparations. We also hope to provide access to press commentary, and establish an academic working papers series.
Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation - W.K. Kellogg Foundation
This is a national and community-based process designed to engage communities in racial healing and change efforts that address current inequities linked to the belief in a racial hierarchy. It is an adaptation of some of the most recognized Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) models.
Truth Commission Digital Collection -USIP
The United States Institute of Peace’s Truth Commissions Digital Collection is part of the Margarita S. Studemeister Digital Library in International Conflict Management. The collection contains profiles of truth commissions and substantive bodies of inquiry from nations worldwide - offering general background information on the composition of each body, links to the official legislative texts establishing such commissions, and each commission's final reports and findings.
United States Congressional Resources
United States Senate Committee on Foreign Relations
It is charged with leading foreign-policy legislation and debate in the Senate. In addition it is generally responsible for overseeing (but not administering) and funding foreign aid programs as well as funding arms sales and training for national allies.
Crimes of War
The Crimes of War Education Project is a collaboration of journalists, lawyers and scholars dedicated to raising public awareness of the laws of war and their application to situations of armed conflict. Our goal is to promote understanding of international humanitarian law among journalists, policymakers, and the general public, in the belief that a wider knowledge of the legal framework governing armed conflict will lead to greater pressure to prevent breaches of the law, and to punish those who commit them.
Foreign Affairs Online
From the University of Virginia. A web site with a number of links to resources international relations, maps, reference sources, information on NGOs and IGOs and much more.
International Affairs Resources
International Affairs Resources is a frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics. These sites are carefully selected for their long-term value, favoring those with cost-free, authoritative information and analysis online.
Stockholm International Peace Research Institute (SIPRI):
SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. Established in 1966, SIPRI provides data, analysis and recommendations, based on open sources, to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public.
United States Department of State
The Department of State advises the President and leads the Nation in foreign policy issues to advance freedom and democracy for the American people and the international community. To this end, the Department compiles research on American overseas interests, disseminates information on foreign policy to the public, negotiates treaties and agreements with foreign nations, and represents the United States in the United Nations and other international organizations and conferences.
USAID Agency for International Development
The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) is an independent agency that provides economic, development and humanitarian assistance around the world in support of the foreign policy goals of the United States. The site provides an overview of each county where the agency does work.
World Bank Group
The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. This site has primary documents and videos.