Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide for New Faculty: Course Materials & Reserves

Resources and information for new Stonehill College Faculty members.

Course Reserves

Course reserves are managed by the circulation department and include both hard copy (books, articles or DVDs) and electronic formats, including Streaming Media, using the ARES system. Once placed on eReserves, these materials can be accessed by students 24/7 via your class eLearn site. You can contact the circulation staff, at x1313, about the procedure for placing items on reserve.  Please allow up to 2 weeks for processing of reserve materials. You can also contact:
 

Joyce Vacchi, x1296, jvacchi@stonehill.edu

For: Accounting, American Studies, Biochemistry, Biology, Business Administration, Chemistry, Cinema Studies, Communication, Computer Science, Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, English, Environmental Studies, Foreign Languages, Gender Studies, Health Care Admin., History, Visual & Performance Arts


Jennifer Connelly, x1374, jconnelly@stonehill.edu

For: History & Phil. Of Science, Honors, Interdept. Studies, Interdisc. Studies, International Studies, Journalism, Mathematics, Middle-Eastern Studies, Military Science, Neuroscience, Philosophy, Physics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Religious Studies, Sociology, Writing

Streaming Media & DVDs

The Library has created a streaming media collection to support curricular needs. We subscribe to several large collections of streaming video content covering educational and instructional films across disciplines. Content from the Media Education Foundation (MEF)Films Media Group, and JoVE has been purchased. In addition, we have access to major motion pictures through Swank. For more information on the Library’s streaming media program, and these collections of streaming content, visit our LibGuide. If you have questions regarding our Streaming media program, contact Heather Perry, x1538.

The library is also an excellent resource for showing films and other media to students as an in or out of class assignment. DVDs may be borrowed for 7 days, and you may “book” a DVD in advance to use on a specific date.  The library has 2 media rooms that may be also be booked in advance for group use.  The rooms can seat 4-8 people.  If you would like more information, please speak with a circulation staff person at x1313.

You may also request that the library DVDs or CDs for course reserves or general collection development.

Request a Title for Purchase

The Library encourages Faculty members to request new titles to enhance our collections. We make every effort to fulfill faculty requests within the boundaries of our budget. With the exception of materials to support Foreign Language courses, we purchase materials in English to support the Stonehill College curriculum. Our Collection Development Policies are available on our website, along with forms for requesting books for course reserves or general collection development. For more information, please contact Liz Chase, Head of Collections, Assessment and User Engagement, at x1329.

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility