LibGuides: ENV 200 Principles of Environmental Science:D'Avanzo: Finding Articles

Resources for Environmental Science

These are some of the databases that you will want to look at to find articles about your topic.

Academic Search Complete is a good place to start, but contains both scholarly material and more general interest, non-scientific material. The magazine BioCycle, which promotes the use of sewage sludge to grow food, is in Academic Search Complete. Make sure you are aware of the type of material you are using.

Another item you might want to use is the newsletter Inside EPA's Climate Extra. This is contained in the Nexis Uni database which includes a wide range of newspapers, government publications and legal research.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing over 13,690 indexed and abstracted journals and nearly 9,100 full-text journals, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,450 journals.
Updated daily
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The world's largest electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Provides access to bibliographic information from more than 4,000 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The file contains over 10 million citations dating from 1966 to the present. New features allow for displays of free full text and Stonehill College holdings.
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection This link opens in a new window
Addresses environmental concerns and research with coverage from more than 300 journals and book reference content.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of all Science magazine content published from October 1996 through the latest issue.
Nature This link opens in a new window
The leading international weekly journal of science from 1997 on.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Includes both book chapters and journal articles available as PDFs. The journal archive includes the complete run of over 400 journal titles in 25 disciplines with a lag period of 3-5 years from the present.
American Chemical Society. ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Our ACS journal subscription provides access to a small core of journals. Access to ACS is limited to on-campus users in the SURE program during the summer months and must be accessed in the Science Building or the Library. Titles outside of our core come at a cost and must be used mindfully to maintain access to the titles. We have a limited number of tokens to use for the articles outside of our core titles. Once the tokens are gone, we are unable to get more.
Our Subscription allows us unlimited access to the following core titles:
Accounts of Chemical Research, ACS Chemical Biology, Analytical Chemistry, Biochemistry, Chemical Reviews, Environmental Science & Technology, Inorganic Chemistry, Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Journal of Chemical Education, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, Journal of Organic Chemistry, Organic Letters, Journal of Physical Chemistry, & Langmuir.
If you have any questions about access to ACS journals, please contact librarydeskgroup@stonehill.edu.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage of scholarly business, management, and economics journals. This collection includes publications covering topics such as accounting, banking, finance, international business, marketing, and sales; it also includes company and country profiles.

Newspaper Sources

Boston Globe 1980-present (full text - no images) This link opens in a new window
New York Times 1985 - Current This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of The New York Times (from 1985 to one day before the current date).
New York Times Site License / NYTimes Pass This link opens in a new window
The Academic Site License using NYTimes Group Passes provides Stonehill College users with full access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes.com smartphone app using any device. Access all current content, including articles, videos, images, and other multi-media content, available on NYTimes.com.

Create a NYTimes.com account using your Stonehill email address. If you already have a NYTimes.com account using your school email address, you may log in with those credentials. Once activated, your NYTimes.com Group Pass can be used from any location for the duration of your license period.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis - including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 - with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be useful for finding resources in addition to the resources you will find in the databases. Google scholar will also help you trace citations. Looking at who is citing an article can be an excellent way to move the research forward. If you find a very useful article that may be a bit older than you would like, use Google Scholar to see who has cited it.

For example, see the article citation below, "Particulate Air Pollution":

It looks promising, but was written before you were born.

If you click where it says Cited by 51, you will get the 51 articles citing this research.

You can also search within the citing articles to make your search more targeted. (See Below)

Particulate air pollution.

DV Bates - Thorax, 1996 - ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Time-series, cross-sectional, and prospective cohort studies have observed associations
between mortality and particulate air pollution but have been limited by ecologic design or
small numbers of subjects or study areas. The present study evaluates effects of particulate

Particulate air pollution.

Search within citing articles

[PDF] tandfonline.com

Health effects of fine particulate air pollution: lines that connect

CA Pope III, DW Dockery - Journal of the air & waste management …, 2006 - Taylor & Francis

Abstract Efforts to understand and mitigate the health effects of particulate matter (PM) air
pollution have a rich and interesting history. This review focuses on six substantial lines of
research that have been pursued since 1997 that have helped elucidate our understanding

Cited by 3905 Related articles All 24 versions Cite Save

[HTML] nih.gov

Full View

[HTML] Epidemiology of fine particulate air pollution and human health: biologic mechanisms and who's at risk?

CA Pope 3rd - Environmental health perspectives, 2000 - ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Abstract This article briefly summarizes the epidemiology of the health effects of fine
particulate air pollution, provides an early, somewhat speculative, discussion of the
contribution of epidemiology to evaluating biologic mechanisms, and evaluates who's at risk

[PDF] tandfonline.com

[PDF] Ambient particles and health: lines that divide

S Vedal - Journal of the Air & Waste Management Association, 1997 - Taylor & Francis

Increases in ambient particle concentrations are associated with an array of adverse health
outcomes. These outcomes range from the least adverse, such as increases in symptoms of
respiratory irritation and small decreases in level of lung function, to the most adverse,

[PDF] tandfonline.com

Meta-analysis of time-series studies of air pollution and mortality: effects of gases and particles and the influence of cause of death, age, and season

DM Stieb, S Judek, RT Burnett - Journal of the Air & Waste …, 2002 - Taylor & Francis

Abstract A comprehensive, systematic synthesis was conducted of daily time-series studies
of air pollution and mortality from around the world. Estimates of effect sizes were extracted
from 109 studies, from single-and multipollutant models, and by cause of death, age, and

[HTML] jimmunol.org

Chemicals in diesel exhaust particles generate reactive oxygen radicals and induce apoptosis in macrophages

TS Hiura, MP Kaszubowski, N Li… - The Journal of …, 1999 - Am Assoc Immnol

Abstract There is increasing evidence that particulate air pollutants, such as diesel exhaust
particles (DEP), potentiate chronic inflammatory processes as well as acute symptomatic
responses in the respiratory tract. The mechanisms of action as well as the cellular targets

The role of particulate pollutants in pulmonary inflammation and asthma: evidence for the involvement of organic chemicals and oxidative stress

AE Nel, D Diaz-Sanchez, N Li - Current opinion in pulmonary …, 2001 - journals.lww.com

Abstract We review the literature indicating that the adverse health effects of ambient
particulate matter involve the generation of oxidative stress and inflammation, as well as
immunomodulating effects by particle-associated chemicals. We discuss evidence that