Skip to main content

HIS 100 Heretics, Reformers & Radicals: Women and Power in American History: Home

This guide is designed to provide you with access to resources providing biographical information about American women who challenged the hierarchies of their eras. Additionally, you'll find tools that will help you place that biographical information in

Librarians Can Help!

Librarians are here to support you through this sudden change to online learning.  Check out the Library Resources and Support course in eLearn, or contact us by:

 

Text: 508.709.0223

Email: librarydeskgroup@stonehill.edu

Tel: 508.565.1313

Make a Virtual Appointment

Contact Us

In accordance with best practices to help stop the spread of COVID-19, the library is closed until it is safe to reopen.

While there is no physical access to the library, librarians continue to work full-time, remotely.

  Phone, chat, and email are monitored:
 

  • Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
    ‚Äč

Students who wish to meet virtually with a reference librarian can make an appointment using LibCal. Librarians offer convenient meeting times and will be using ZOOM for the virtual meeting. If you do not see a convenient time in the LibCal schedule, please email a librarian directly to schedule an appointment.

 Text us at 508.709.0223

  Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

  Email us  

 Make a Virtual Reference appointment

Welcome

This LibGuide has been created to provide you with access to library resources that with assist you in your research for this class. Here, you will find links to reference materials, library catalogs, databases and online primary source collections. These tools will connect you to a wealth of primary and secondary sources. To navigate to these materials, use the tables on the top of this LibGuiide. Following is a brief description of what you will find on each of these tabs.

Biographical Information - For biographical information background material, consult the encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. They are located in the Reference section on the library's first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library

Online Collections - This tab provides you with links to a number of sites offering biographical information about American women. These sites are compiled by museums, educational institutions and other organizations.

Finding Books - This page will give you access to two library catalogs, HillSearch, the MacPhaidin Library catalog, and WorldCat.  HillSearch allows you to search for books and other materials held by the library, such as electronic books and streaming media. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. It can be used to order items from inter-library loan.

Finding Articles – This tab provides an annotated list of and links to the databases used most frequently for history. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications

Finding Primary Sources - This tab provides you information about accessing primary source materials in the library’s collections and  access to an annotated list of the library's subscription primary source databases. Additionally it provides links to a curated lists of online primary source collections in U.S. and world history.

Citing Your Research - This tab will provide you with access to an electronic version of the Chicago Manual of Style. Copies of the manual as well as other citation documentation is available at the reference desk. On this tab you will also find a link to RefWorks, an online citation tool.

Your Librarian

Trish McPherson's picture
Trish McPherson
Contact:
Library Room 109-B
508-565-1844
libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility