HIS 112 Heretics, Reformers & Radicals: Women and Power in American History: Biographical Sources

Winner of the Dartmouth Medal for Outstanding Reference Publication of 1994, the first edition of Black Women in America broke ground-pulling together for the first time all of the research in this vast but underrepresented field to provide one of the strongest building blocks of Black Women'sStudies. Hailed by Eric Foner of Columbia University (for a Lingua Franca survey) as "one of those publishing events which changes the way we look at a field," it simultaneously filled a void in the literature and sparked new research and concepts regarding African-American women in history. Since the first edition was published, a new generation of American black women has flourished, demanding this landmark reference be brought up to date. Women such as Venus and Serena Williams, Condoleezza Rice, Carol Mosley-Braun, Ruth Simmons, and Ann Fudge have become household names for theirremarkable contributions to sports, politics, academia, and business. In three magnificent volumes, Black Women in America, second edition celebrates the remarkable achievements of black women throughout history, highlights their ongoing contributions in America today, and covers the new researchthe first edition helped to generate. Features: * Includes more than 150 new entries, plus revisions and updates to all previous entries * Contains 500 illustrations, many published here for the first times * Includes over 335 biographies, many newly prepared for this publication * Offers sidebars on interesting aspects of the history and culture of black women * Provides a bibliography for each entry, plus a major bibliographical essay * Features a chronology and a comprehensive index For a complete listing of contents, visit www.oup.com/us/bwia

Profiling nearly 5,000 women, this is the most comprehensive, easy-to-use chronology of women's experiences and achievements throughout world history. From Cro-Magnon childbirth and ancient Egyptian cosmetics to Janet Reno and the Tailhook scandal, the breadth, diversity, and accessibility of this work make it invaluable for identifying the accomplishments and circumstances of women in any given historical period. Entries are arranged by year or group of years in an easy-to-use format of ten subject categories. Here the reader will find information concerning such topics as women's legal rights, life expectancy, medical care, daily tasks, women in politics, business, and other areas. Brief entries summarize the most important or characteristic events of each period, while explanatory essays illuminate broad trends and unusual aspects of women's lives in a variety of cultures.

This abundant, comprehensive encyclopedia is the first stop for information on women's contribution to American religion. * Over 300 A-Z entries, many with illustrations, from abortion and birth control to peace movements and witchcraft * Biographies of key figures such as Dorothea Dix, Margaret Fuller, Shirley MacLaine, and Sojourner Truth * Entry bibliographies and cross references * Detailed chronology

This three-volume set is an accessible and scholarly reference that provides a comprehensive survey of lesbian and gay history and culture in the United States. Long needed by researchers, the "Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America includes approximately 545 articles ranging from short biographical entries to longer essays surveying topics such as the Stonewall riots, federal law and policy, same-sex institutions and AIDS. Wide-ranging in scope, this new encyclopedia complements courses in a variety of disciplines, including history, American studies, literature, psychology, sociology and others. Features include a guide to archival sources, a chronology/timeline, a historical overview essay and a comprehensive index.

Encyclopedia of Women and American Politics contains all the material a reader needs to understand the role of women throughout America's political history. This informative A-to-Z volume covers the people, events, and terms involved in the history of women and politics. Suitable for a high school and junior college audience, this comprehensive encyclopedia also provides a biography for every woman who has served in the U.S. House of Representatives, the Senate, and the Supreme Court.Broad topics, such as sexual harassment, are cross-referenced with key events and people who are relevant to the topic. Appendixes include a chronology of highlights in women's political history, as well as additional documents.

The challenges and achievements of female athletes in the U.S. are the focus of this collection of nearly 300 articles and biographies that portray the diversity, depth, and meaning of their sports experiences. Written by prominent experts as well as by the athletes themselves, these articles offer a unique, authoritative perspective on topics ranging from women's earliest involvement in sports through recent events at the 1997 world and national championships.

This singular reference provides an authoritative account of the daily lives of enslaved women in the United States, from colonial times to emancipation following the Civil War. Through essays, photos, and primary source documents, the female experience is explored, and women are depicted as central, rather than marginal, figures in history. * Dozens of photos of former enslaved women * Detailed historical timeline * Numerous rare primary documents, including runaway slave advertisements and even a plantation recipe for turtle soup * Profiles of noted female slaves and their works

This major reference work provides short articles on key people, events and ideas that have shaped the history of women in the United States. Of interest to women's studies researchers and students everywhere, this Handbook is a comprehensive, interdisciplinary view of a fascinating field of study.

Entries on almost five hundred women representing a wide range of fields of endeavor are featured in a collection of biographical essays that integrate each woman's personal life with her professional achievements, set in the context of historical developments.

The most inclusive book to date on U.S. women's collective history! A landmark work, The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History, gathers together more than 400 articles to offer a diverse, rich, and often neglected panorama of the nation's past. Written by more than 300 contributors, drawn from various areas of expertise, these narrative and interpretive entries "effectively cover five centuries of women's experiences" (Bloomsbury Review). Here are articles on cowgirls and child care, on the daily lives of single women and the changing notions of motherhood, on the artistic contributions of women of color and the history of Jewish feminism. Wide-ranging in scope and wonderfully accessible, this unique resource reexamines with fresh clarity and brio the issues and concerns that color the lives of all women. Articles and their contributors include: African American Women, Darlene Clark Hine; Cult of Domesticity, Carroll Smith-Rosenberg; Fashion and Style, Lynn Yaeger; Jazz and Blues, Daphne Duval Harrison; Lesbians, Elizabeth Lapovsky Kennedy; Native American Cultures, Clara Sue Kidwell; Picture Brides, Judy Yung; Salem Witchcraft Trials, Mary Beth Norton; Vietnam Era, Sara M. Evans.

This four-volume set documents the complexity and richness of women's contributions to American history and culture, empowering all students by demonstrating a more populist approach to the past. * Provides significantly more detail than typical reference works on women's history and culture, enabling readers to better appreciate the contributions of women of all socio-cultural statuses * Covers the astounding range of American women's experience, including women of various economic and racial statuses, religious affiliations, political and ideological identifications, and sexualities * Includes a significant selection of primary documents, thereby combining the educational power of secondary and primary literature to create a richer learning experience for users