Phone numbers and email addresses for the Center for Writing and Academic Achievement are:
Leona O'Neil, Administrative Assistant
This guide has been designed to give you easy access to resources that will be when conducting research for the Russia, the West, and the Rest class. The home page of this guide will provide you with information about Reference hours and how you can contact the librarians or make an appointment research assistance.
Finding Articles - This page will explain how to locate articles in the library in addition to an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for political science. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and Interlibrary Loan via ILLiad.
Finding Books and Videos - This page will give you access to our library catalog, HillSearch and WorldCat. Use HillSearch to locate books and additional items. The WorldCat database contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. Use this in conjunction with our Interlibrary Loan service to request items not available in the MacPhaidin library.
Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. Political science resources are located in the J - JK sections on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library.
International Statistical Sources and Organizations - This page provides links to reputable collections and websites related to the subject area of this LibGuide.'
NGOs and Web Sites - This page provides links to reputable collections and websites of NGOs.
Think Tanks - These organizations conduct research and advocate for topics in issues social policy, political strategy, economic, military, technology and culture. These institutes vary by ideological perspectives, sources of funding, topics and the people. These elements define the workings of the organization and their research focus.
Citing Your Research - Your professor will likely specify which citation style they want used. This page will provide you access to a number of the most frequently-used citation styles. This will also give you a link to RefWorks, an online citatio
Although the library is closed over the winter break, library services remain available. Librarians are available by text, phone, and Zoom. Many of the library's resources are available electronically. If you have any questions, please call The Desk at 508-565-1313. Safety measures have also called for some additional changes in library operations. You can learn more about them on the FAQ page of the library website.
Students who wish to meet with a librarian can make an appointment using LibCal.