Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks Guide: Saving Citations & Web Pages to RefWorks

This is for the NEW RefWorks

Adding citations to RefWorks

There are several ways to add citations to RefWorks:

  1. Use the Direct Export function in databases and the library catalog and export citations directly to RefWorks
  2. Save citations from databases to your desktop and import a saved file to RefWorks
  3. Add citations into RefWorks manually
  4. Use Save to RefWorks to capture bibliographic information from a web page

Direct Export from databases to RefWorks

Direct export from databases: Many databases provide a "direct export" function that allows you to add a citation or group of citations you find in a database directly to RefWorks without having to save any files to import manually. To use direct export:

  1. Mark/tag or save the citation(s) you want to add to RefWorks. Some databases allow you to create a folder of saved citations.
  2. Find and click on the Save, Export, Send to, or Download link or icon in the database (these options are different across our databases), then choose the "Direct Export to RefWorks" or "Save to RefWorks" option.
  3. The RefWorks login screen will appear. Login to your RefWorks account. RefWorks will display the message "Importing references, please wait...", and when finished will display "Import completed - [x] reference(s) imported," and a View Last Imported Folder link. You can then move the citation(s) into a folder of your choice in RefWorks.

Save citations from databases to desktop/import saved file to RefWorks

Save and import to RefWorks: To add citations from databases without direct export, you need to save marked/tagged citations from the database to your computer as a text (.txt) file, which you can then import into RefWorks. Records from "desktop" citation management software (such as EndNote) can also be imported into RefWorks in this way.

  1. Mark/tag or save to folder the citations you want to add to RefWorks.
  2. Click the Save, Download, Export, or Send to link (these options are different across our databases).
  3. You will be prompted to save a text file (.txt)--save the file on the computer you are using.
  4. To import your citations into RefWorks, login to RefWorks, and under the References menu select Import. In the window that appears, access the drop-down menu next to Import Filter/Data Source, select the source of the data and then the resource you are importing from. You can also specify which folder in RefWorks you want to add the citations to.
  5. Click the Browse button to select the text file you just saved to your computer and click Import.
  6. RefWorks will display the message "Importing references, please wait...", and when finished will display "Import completed - [x] reference(s) imported," and a View Last Imported Folder link. You can then move the citation(s) into a folder of your choice in RefWorks.

Add citations manually

Add citations manually to RefWorks:

  1. Login to your refworks account
  2. Select New Reference button.
  3. Select the desired citation style in the View fields used by box
  4. Select the desired folder in the Add to folder box.
  5. Select the appropriate reference type from the Ref type box.
  6. Enter the informaton from your refernce in the appropriate fields.
  7. Click Save Reference.

Add citations in web pages using "Save to RefWorks"

Save to RefWorks is a bookmarklet that you can install in your browser's favorites (bookmarks) bar. When you are browsing a website that has references that you would like to add to your RefWorks account, select the bookmarklet. RefWorks attempts to save the references and full text. There will often be missing information that you will need to add manually.

Save to RefWorks should work on any modern browser.

For instructions on installing Save to RefWorks, go to RefWorks Plugins: Connecting Your Browser, Microsoft Word, and Google Docs to RefWorks

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility