HIS 430 - History Thesis

This site offers a database of and index to more than 5000 speeches in text, audio and video formats. The site also contains links to the Top 100 speeches of the 20th century.

The Avalon Project provides access to digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. Its coverage spand from 4000bce to the 21st century.

Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.

This site provides access to copies of 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration. They span a time period from 1776 (the Declaration of Independence) to 1965 (Voting Rights Act).

Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties, compiled and edited by Charles J. Kappler, is an historically significant, seven volume compilation of U.S. treaties, laws and executive orders pertaining to Native American Indian tribes. The volumes cover U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1970 (Volumes I, III-VII). Primary source material.

This digital public law library, a project of The Native American Rights Fund, is devoted to Federal native American and tribal law.

The Smithsonian's National Museum of the American Indian contains a number of digitized exhibitions. Those exhibitions, which cover topics ranging from bead-work in Iroquois Life to American Indian Horsemanship, provide access to digitized visual materials

This site features full-text primary documents and major speeches of black activists and leaders from the 18th Century to the present. Additionally, this site provides links other resources including major museums and archival research centers.

This Stanford University institute provides access to a comprehensive collection of Dr. King's most significant correspondence, sermons, speeches, published writings, and unpublished manuscripts.

The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale.

This site, from the Middle Tennessee State University Library, provides a chronology of American Women from prehistory through the present day. The site is divided chronologically and links to primary source repositories are provided for each era. For example, The 1880-1899 section of the site provides links to primary sources available through digitized texts, the Smithsonian’s National Anthropologic al Archives, the American Association of University Women’s online collections and the Harvard University’s Open Collections

This site, hosted by Iowa State University, houses the speeches and campaign advertising of U.S. women senators and representatives, cabinet members, Supreme Court justices, governors and lieutenant governors, and first and second ladies; international women leaders; and recipients of the Mary Louise Smith Chair in Women and Politics at Iowa State University.

Women Working, 1800 - 1930 focuses on women's role in the United States economy and provides access to digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections. The collection features approximately 500,000 digitized pages and images including: 7,500 pages of manuscripts, 3,500 books and pamphlets, 1,200 photographs. This site is part of Harvard University Library’s Open Collections Program.

Based in Worcester, Massachusetts at the College of the Holy Cross, the DTA is an international collaboration among more than fifty colleges, universities, nonprofit organizations, public libraries, and private collections.

This collection, part of the Library of Congress's Veterans History Project presents the stories of gau service men and women who served their country " while balancing the need to keep their private lives private."

ONE National Gay & Lesbian Archives is the oldest active Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Queer, Questioning (LGBTQ) organization in the United States and the largest repository of LGBTQ materials in the world. Founded in 1952, ONE Archives currently houses over two million archival items including periodicals, books, film, video and audio recordings, photographs, artworks, organizational records and personal papers.