Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide for New Faculty: Home

Resources and information for new Stonehill College Faculty members.

About this Guide

This guide provides faculty new to Stonehill College with information about the Library's resources and services. All information found in this guide is also available through our website and LibGuides. We recommend that you bookmark our Information for Faculty webpage, where we have collected information specifically for our faculty members.

MacPhaidin Library Mission Statement

Transfomation via Discovery
Explore. Evaluate. Engage.

The staff at the MacPháidín Library is here to help faculty with their work as teachers and as researchers. We strive to collaborate with faculty as they teach students to become critical evaluators and thinkers able to explore the vast amounts of information available to them. We foster academic achievement by creating connections between students and scholarly resources. The library and archives acquires materials and provides improved access to current and future collections in ways that embrace diversity, culture, and physical limitations. Our programs and services enhance the distinctiveness of a Stonehill education by creating collaborative and versatile spaces that support our collections, programs, and the Stonehill community. Our staff and student workers contribute to faculty work in and out of the classroom and students’ development as skilled researchers through in-person and virtual, on- demand services.

Access Privileges

Borrowing Privileges
Faculty can borrow circulating books for the academic year, with a due date of June 1. Please show your Hillcard to borrow materials.  Items needed by a student or for reserve are subject to recall. 

Access to Journal Articles & Databases
The library subscribes to numerous databases that facilitate research in all academic disciplines. We currently subscribe to over 80 full-text databases which provide access to articles from over 38,000 journals. Reference librarians can assist faculty with our current databases and can also explore additional options, such as open access journals, to help meet student and faculty research needs. Stonehill community members can access the majority of the databases from their offices and from off campus as well.  For more information, contact the reference staff at x1203, or Geri Sheehan, Periodicals Librarian, at x1293.

Subject Guide

Reference Librarians's picture
Reference Librarians
Contact:
508-565-1203

Contact Us

In order to comply with state COVID-19 safety regulations, building occupancy will be reduced this fall. Call The Desk at 508-565-1313 to find out whether the building is at capacity. Safety measures have also called for some additional changes in library operations. You can learn more about them on the FAQ page of the library website.

Students who wish to meet with a librarian can make an appointment using LibCal.

 Text us at 508.709.0223

  Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

  Email us  

 Make a Virtual Reference appointment

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility