Skip to main content

SLP 101A - Intro to Human Communication Disorders: Home

R. Goldberg

Contact Us

In order to comply with state COVID-19 safety regulations, building occupancy will be reduced this fall. Call The Desk at 508-565-1313 to find out whether the building is at capacity. Safety measures have also called for some additional changes in library operations. You can learn more about them on the FAQ page of the library website.

Students who wish to meet with a librarian can make an appointment using LibCal.

 Text us at 508.709.0223

  Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

  Email us  

 Make a Virtual Reference appointment

Off-Campus Access

Off-campus access to most of the library's databases is available. In order to use these resources from home, you will need to log in using your MyHill credentials - your username and password.

If you need assistance please contact the The Desk at 508-565-1313.

Getting Started

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for Speech & Language Pathology. You can use the tabs on the top of the page to access specific resources. Those resources include:

Finding Books and Videos  - This page will give you access to two library catalogs, HillSearch (the MacPhaidin Library Catalog) and the WorldCat catalog. HillSearch will list all books, periodicals, audio-visual materials, government documents and Databases held in our library. The WorldCat catalog contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. it can be used to order items from interlibrary loan.

Finding Articles - When you click on this tab, you will be presented with an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for speech-language pathology topics. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar.

Internet Sources - This page provides links to reputable collections and websites related to the study of speech-language pathology.  Information about how to evaluate websites for credibility is also included.

Streaming Media - Use HillSearch to locate an online video that can be watched anywhere, anytime. These videos can be embedded into your class presentation.

APA 7th Style Citation Guide - Professor Goldberg has requested that you use APA citations in your research paper. This page will direct you to a guide that provides you with instructions and examples of how to cite sources using APA style.

Your Assignment

Research Topic, Paper and Class Presentation:   

Students will be assigned to groups of 2 or 3.  Each group will be given a topic about which to write an 8-10 page research paper, and to present their topic to the class in a 15-20 minute timeframe.  Groups will also prepare a 2-page handout for classmates to have as a resource. This handout will be submitted to the instructor to be posted to eLearn.  Papers and presentations must include a recommended question to be included on tests and/or the final exam.  

There must be at least 5 references that includes the course textbook, one other book and/or chapters from the recommended readings, one journal article about a research study and 2 Internet references.  Papers must be written using APA style (www.APAstyle.com) and will be graded according to a rubric that will be available on e-Learn. Grading will include the paper rating (34%), presentation rating (33%), and peer feedback rating (33%). 

Students will have flexibility and discretion about the manner, structure and content of their presentations.  If they choose, they can use a PowerPoint (or equivalent) format, YouTube clips, direct interviews with people, and/or other methods of delivery.  

Papers and presentations must be equitably divided among the group members.  Students must meet with the instructor, after they have decided how to divide their topic, to get approval about their division plan.  Presentations will be scheduled on different dates throughout the semester, via Zoom. Both papers and presentations must be submitted to the instructor 24 hours in advance. The instructor may ask to record the presentations to use for grading purposes, or to share with a student who may miss the presentation (with prior approval). 

Reference and Access Services Assistant

Lindsay Boezi's picture
Lindsay Boezi
Contact:
508-565-1567

Borrow Items from Interlibrary Loan 2020

If Stonehill does not own the book, or article you need, you can order it through our Interlibrary Loan Department.

Problems? Questions? Contact THE DESK at 508-565-1313.

I

 

 

libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility