Print Journals in the MacPhaidin Library
This guide contains a list of all of the nineteenth-century journals owned by the MacPhaidin Library. These are print journals, located on the second floor of the Library Building. You may use any of these titles in the Library.
|
Title |
Place of Publication |
Coverage |
Notes |
|
All the year round |
London |
1859-1893 |
Charles Dickens,ed. |
|
Amer. Jrnl. Of Sci. + Arts |
New Haven |
1818-1879 |
cont.by AmJofScience (above) |
|
American Eclectic |
New York |
1841-1843 |
|
|
American Jrnl. Of Sci. |
New Haven |
1880-present |
later issues/regular stacks |
|
Andover Review |
Boston |
1884-1893 |
|
|
Appleton's Journal |
New York |
1869-1881 |
incl.Appleton'sJ.of Lit,Sci&Art |
|
The Arena |
Boston |
1889-1908 |
|
|
Argosy |
London |
1866-1901 |
some gaps |
|
Bay State Monthly |
Boston |
1884-1885 |
cont.byNewEngl.Mag (below) |
|
Bentley's Miscellany |
London |
1837-1868 |
complete run |
|
Blackwood's Magazine |
London |
1839-1935 |
|
|
Book-Lore |
London |
1884-1887 |
ceased in 1887 |
|
The Bookworm |
London |
1888-1894 |
illustrated literature-complete |
|
British Quarterly Review |
London |
1845-1886 |
complete run |
|
Chamber's (Edinburgh) Jrnl. |
London |
1832-1937 |
3 different titles in run |
|
Chautauquan |
NY (state) |
1880-1914 |
complete run |
|
The Citizen |
Philadelphia |
1895-1898 |
complete run |
|
Commercial Review |
New Orleans |
|
|
|
Conservative Review |
Washington |
1899-1901 |
complete run |
|
Cornhill Magazine |
London |
1860-1937 |
|
|
DeBow's Review |
New Orleans |
1850-1870 |
3 different titles in run |
|
Dublin Review |
London |
1897-1961 |
some gaps in holdings |
|
Dublin University Magazine |
Dublin/London |
1833-1877 |
some gaps in holdings |
|
Eclectic Magazine |
New York |
1844-1906 |
|
|
Eclectic Museum |
New York |
1843-1843 |
|
|
Edinburgh Review |
Edinburgh |
1802-1929 |
gaps |
|
English Illustrated Magazine |
London |
1883-1909 |
|
|
Every Saturday |
Boston |
1866-1874 |
complete run |
|
Foreign Quarterly |
London |
1827-1846 |
complete run |
|
Fraser's Magazine |
London |
1858-1882 |
2 different titles in run |
|
The Globe |
Philadelphia |
1889-1902 |
|
|
Historical Magazine |
Morrisania NY |
1857-1873 |
|
|
Hours at Home |
New York |
1865-1870 |
complete run |
|
Household Words |
London |
1850-1859 |
complete run |
|
Intellectual Observer |
London |
1862-1868 |
complete run |
|
International Monthly |
Burlington VT |
1900-1902 |
gaps |
|
International Quarterly |
Burlington VT |
1902-1906 |
complete run |
|
International Review |
New York |
1874-1883 |
complete run |
|
Macmillan's Magazine |
London |
1859-1907 |
complete run |
|
Magazine of American Hist. |
New York/Portchester NY |
1877-1917 |
2 different titles in run |
|
Magazine of History |
New York |
1905-1922 |
|
|
Massachusetts Magazine |
Salem MA |
1908-1916 |
|
|
Masters in Art |
Boston |
1900-1907 |
|
|
Masters in Music |
Boston |
1903-1905 |
complete run |
|
McClure's Magazine |
New York |
1900-1914 |
|
|
Mthly Microscopical Jrnl |
London |
1869-1877 |
complete run |
|
Municipal Affairs |
New York |
1897-1903 |
complete run |
|
Music |
Chicago |
1891-1902 |
complete run |
|
Nash's & Pall Mall Magazine |
London |
1915-1927 |
continuesPallMallMagazine |
|
National Review |
New York |
1855-1864 |
complete run |
|
New England Magazine |
Boston |
1886-1917 |
continuesBayStateMonthly |
|
New Englander & Yale Review |
New Haven |
1843-1892 |
continued by Yale Review |
|
New Monthly Magazine |
London |
1821-1870 |
aka Colburn'sNewMonthly |
|
New Review |
London |
1889-1897 |
complete run |
|
New World |
Boston |
1892-1900 |
complete run |
|
New York Review |
New York |
1837-1842 |
complete run |
|
North British Review |
Edinburgh |
1844-1846 |
|
|
North British Review |
New York |
1846-1871 |
American ed. |
|
Notes and Queries |
London |
1849-1928 |
1978 to pres.in Stacks |
|
Pall Mall Magazine |
London |
1893-1914 |
complete run |
|
Radical Review |
New Bedford |
1877-1877 |
|
|
Scribner's Magazine |
New York |
1887-1911 |
|
|
Scribner's Monthly |
New York |
1870-1881 |
|
|
University Magazine |
London |
1878-1880 |
continues Dublin U.Mag (above) |
Contact Us
Call The Desk at 508.565.1313
Subject Guide
Looking for Databases?
If you are looking for nineteenth-century journals in an online format, the Library has access to a number of databases you can use:
-
Nineteenth Century Masterfile This link opens in a new windowA reference service that covers the Nineteenth Century. It includes the web-based Poole's Index to Periodical Literature, plus dozens of other indexes to Periodicals, Books, Newspapers and Government Documents of the Nineteenth Century.
-
New York Times 1851-2014 This link opens in a new windowProvides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
