LibGuides: Copy of of APA 7th Books: Home

Books/Ebooks

1. Whole authored book

Berenson, K. R. (2018). Managing your research data and documentation. American Psychological Association.

https://doi.org/10.1037/0000068-000

In a paraphrase: Being able to repeat studies that have been done before and ensuring that new research can be more easily duplicated is an important part of modern psychology research (Berenson, 2018).
In a quotation: “Trying to replicate previous studies and make future studies more readily replicable is an important goal in psychology research today”, states Berenson (2018, p. 4).

Gavin, H., & Porter, T. (2014). Female aggression. John Wiley & Sons..

In a paraphrase: According to Gavin and Porter (2014), there has been an increase in acts of physical aggression committed by and between women and girls.
In a quotation: It is apparent that “physical aggression among and by girls and women has become more prevalent” (Gavin & Porter, 2014, p. 3).

Luo, G., Wang, Y., Liang, Q., & Liu, Q. (2012). Systems biology for traditional chinese medicine. John Wiley & Sons.

In a paraphrase: Keeping an internal balance between Yin and Yang is fundamental to good health (Luo et al., 2012).
In a quotation: In traditional Chinese medicine, “the human body is considered as a whole unit with the balance of Yin and Yang keeping a healthy condition.” (Luo et al., 2012, p. 3).

Provide the author, year of publication, title, and publisher of the book.

Use the same format for both print books and ebooks.

Use the copyright date shown on the book’s copyright page as the year of publication in the reference, even if the copyright date is different than the release date.

Include any edition information in parentheses after the title, without italics.

If the book includes a DOI, include the DOI in the reference after the publisher name.

Do not include the publisher location.

If the ebook without a DOI has a stable URL that will resolve for readers, include the URL of the book in the reference (as in the Young example, which is from the Ebook Central database). Do not include the name of the database in the reference.

If the ebook is from an academic research database and has no DOI or stable URL, end the book reference after the publisher name. Do not include the name of the database in the reference. The reference in this case is the same as for a print book.

2. Whole edited book

Clark, M., & Waller, T. (Eds.). (2007). Early childhood education and care: policy and practice. SAGE

Publications. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com/lib/stonehill-ebooks/detail.action?docID=420913

Kesharwani, P. (Ed.). (2020). Nanotechnology based approaches for tuberculosis treatment. Academic Press.

Torino, G. C., Rivera, D. P., Capodilupo, C. M., Nadal, K. L., & Sue, D. W. (Eds.). (2019). Microaggression theory: Influence and

implications. John Wiley & Sons.

In a paraphrase: Microaggressions can range from accidental to deliberate (Torino et al., 2019).
In a quotation: According to Torino et al. (2019), “Microaggressions vary on a continuum from being intentional to unintentional.” (p. 5).

Use the abbreviation “(Ed.)” for one editor and the abbreviation “(Eds.)” for multiple editors after the editor names, followed by a period. In the case of multiple editors, include the role once, after all the names.

Include any edition information in parentheses after the title, without italics.

If the book includes a DOI, include the DOI in the reference after the publisher name.

Do not include the publisher location.

If the ebook without a DOI has a stable URL that will resolve for readers, include the URL of the book in the reference (as in the Clark and Waller example, which is from the Ebook Central database). Do not include the name of the database in the reference.

1. Chapter in an edited book

Adcock, R. & Bevir, S. C. (2007). The remaking of political theory. In R. Adcock, M. Bevir, S. C. Stimson, & S. C. C. Stimson (Eds.). Modern political science: Anglo-american exchanges since 1880. https://ebookcentral.proquest.com

Milgram, S. (2004). Behavioral study of obedience. in E. Aronson (Ed.), Readings about the social animal (9th ed., pp. 27-40). Worth Publishers.

Pursley, S. (2020). Colonialism, empire, and nationalist movements. In O. El Shakry. (Ed.), Understanding and Teaching the Modern Middle East (pp. 68-84). University of Wisconsin Press. doi:10.2307/j.ctv17nmzqj.10

Use this format for both print and ebook edited book chapters, including edited book chapters from academic research databases.

If the chapter has a DOI, include the chapter DOI in the reference after the publisher name.

Do not include the publisher location.

If a chapter without a DOI has a stable URL that will resolve for readers, include the URL of the chapter in the reference (as in the Adcock example, which is from Ebook Central). Do not include the name of the database in the reference.

If the chapter is from an academic research database and has no DOI or stable URL, end the book reference after the publisher name. Do not include the name of the database in the reference. The reference in this case is the same as for a print book chapter.

Include any edition information in the same parentheses as the page range of the chapter, separated with a comma.

For ebook chapters without pagination, omit the page range from the reference (as in the Adcock example).

1. Religious works

The Bhagavad Gita (E. Easwaran, Trans.; 2nd ed.). (2007). Nilgiri Press.

King James Bible. (2017). King James Bible Online. https://www.kingjamesbibleonline.org/ (Original work published 1769)

In a quotation: The person vowed to “set me as a seal upon thine heart” (King James Bible, 1769/2017, Song of Solomon 8:6).

Religious works published as books (as with the Bhagavad Gita example) follow the book reference format. Religious works published as websites (as with the King James Bible example) follow the webpage reference format.

Religious works are usually treated as having no author.

Use the year of publication of the version that you used in the date element of the reference.

The year of original publication of a religious work may be unknown or in dispute and is not included in the reference in those cases. However, versions of religious works such as the Bible may be republished; these republished dates are included in the reference. For example, the online version of the King James Bible was published in 2017 and is based on the version of the King James Bible published in 1769, so both 2017 and 1769 are included in the reference.

When two dates appear in the reference, include both years in the in-text citation, separated with a slash, the earlier year first.

When presenting the title of a specific work in a reference list entry or citation, italicize the title of the work.

When referring to the Bible generally or to versions of the Bible generally, do not use italics (e.g., the King James Version of the Bible, the New Revised Standard Version, Holy Bible, the Septuagint).

Cite a chapter or verse in the text using canonical numbering rather than page numbers:

2. Annotated religious works

Kohlenberg III, J. R. & Jirak, D. J. (Eds.). (1992). Zondervan NIV Nave's Topical Bible. Zondervan.

In a paraphrase:
In a quotation: The person vowed to “set me as a seal upon thine heart” (King James Bible, 1769/2017, Song of Solomon 8:6).

When a classical work (including a religious work) has been annotated by an editor, the editor appears in the author position of the reference.

Cite a chapter or verse of the religious work in the text using canonical numbering rather than page numbers: (Kaiser & Garrett, 2006, Genesis 1:20)

Cite a portion of the annotated work created by its authors or editors using page numbers from the work: (Kaiser & Garrett, 2006, footnote to Genesis 1:12, p. 4)