Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopaedia of Mass Communication, Vol. I by
Publication Date: 2008
In today`s global world, Mass Communication is a vital part of our life. Mass communication means a lot of people, talking on telephone, sending and receiving e-mail, writing and receiving letters. Interestingly, until very recently the accepted meaning of the term; mass communication did not describe mass communication, as communication taking place on a mass scale. What was, and still is, more often termed as mass communication, is the communication that happens by means of movies, big daily newspapers and broadcasts-the creation and mass distribution of information and entertainment. However, times and technology have changed. Beginning around 1990, when internet usage began to migrate from scientific communication on a mass scale expanded dramatically. Suddenly, it became possible to post an e-mail to an address, anywhere in the world. The latest changes in technology are far more significant than people, including members of the media and media to have theorists, generally recognize. In a sense, these changes expose the warning to have an awareness of the inadequacy of the mass communication system at a particular stage in its evolution. This work, a research based effort, should be a good source for students and general readers concerned.
Encyclopedia of New Media by
Call Number: REF: QA76.575 .E5368 2003
Publication Date: 2002-12-10
From Amazon.com to virtual communities, the Encyclopedia of New Media presents more than 250 entries that place new communication technology, multimedia, entertainment and e-commerce within their social context. Each subject is examined in depth in a single, coherent article and the Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive, A-Z reference on the ongoing revolution in communications. The Encyclopedia is edited by Steve Jones, one of the most renowned scholars of new media studies, and editor of two SAGE texts in this area Cybersociety 2.0 (1998) and Doing Internet Research (1999). The 275 entries are balanced between information technology and the social landscape, include entries on both themes and theorists, and the volume includes 25 photographs. Unlike many encyclopedias that provide short, fragmented entries, the Encyclopedia of New Media examines each subject in depth in a single, coherent article. Many articles span several pages and are presented in a large, double-column format for easy reading. The Encyclopedia of New Media includes a comprehensive index as well as a reader's guide that facilitates browsing and easy access to information. Each entry includes a bibliography and suggestions for further reading, together with links to related topics in the Encyclopedia, making this an indispensable resource for students and academics in media and cultural studies and a must for both public and university libraries.
Search WorldCat Via MacPhaidin Library
Click to search WorldCat
Use WorldCat to search thousands of libraries' catalogs. You can serach by title, author, keyword and other search options. If Stonehill does not own a book or other item you would like to use, you can discover whom in Massachusetts or the world might own it. WorldCat has an interactive link with our interlibrary loan system.
Google Books can be used to search the full text of books from title to index. You can search for certain phases in a book, search the index and get a preview of the book's content. If you find a relevant book you can download a complete book if it is in the public domain. You can purchase books to be loaded on to an iPhone, iPad, or other device. You can also request books that are relevant to your research by using the library's interlibrary loan system, Illiad.
Full View: You can access the complete work if it is out of copyright or if the author or publisher has allowed the book to be available in a fully viewable format. You can view any page and if the book is in the public domain you can download, save or print a PDF version. You can search the content of the book.
Limited Preview: A limited number of pages from the book will be available for viewing and content searching is allowed.
Snippet View: Just a few sentences to display your search term in context of the book. Publishing information is available at this level.
No Preview Available: Just the basic bibliographic information about the book will be displayed.