MLK - JRN 309A - Narrative Journalism - LibGuides at Stonehill College

Books in MacPhaidin Library's Collection

Called to Serve, January 1929-June 1951 by Clayborne Carson (Editor); Ralph E. Luker (Editor); Penny A. Russell (Editor); Louis R. Harlan (Editor); Martin Luther King
ISBN: 0520079507
Publication Date: 1992-01-09
The Words of Martin Luther King, Jr. by Coretta Scott King; Martin Luther King
ISBN: 0937858285
Publication Date: 1991-04-01
The FBI and Martin Luther King, Jr. by David J. Garrow
ISBN: 0393015092
Publication Date: 1981-10-01

MLK Sources

Libraries, museums and government agencies provide a wealth of information about Martin Luther King Jr.’s life, work and assassination. Visit these sites and you will find a variety of resources: biographical information, primary source material (such as photographs, speeches, and oral history transcripts) and government documents.

Civil Rights Digital Library
From the website: " The Civil Rights Digital Library promotes an enhanced understanding of the Movement by helping users discover primary sources and other educational materials from libraries, archives, museums, public broadcasters, and others on a national scale. "
FBI: The Vault
The Vault is the Federal Bureau of Investigation's Freedom of Information Act request library. Here, you'll find FBI documents related to the agency's surveillance and harassment of Dr. King and investigation into his assassination.
The King Center
From the website: "The King Library and Archives in Atlanta is the largest repository of primary source materials on Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and the American Civil Rights Movement in the world. The collection consists of the papers of Dr. King and those of the organization he co-founded, the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, as well as the records of 8 major civil rights organizations and of several individuals active in the Movement. The archives also include more than 200 oral history interviews with Dr. King’s teachers, friends, family and civil rights associates."
Library of Congress: Civil Rights History Project
This collection of oral history interviews includes discussions of a variety of topics within the civil rights movement, such as the influence of the labor movement, nonviolence and self-defense, religious faith, music, and the experiences of young activists. Actions and events discussed in the interviews include the March on Washington for Jobs and Freedom (1963), the Albany Movement (1961), the Freedom Rides (1961), the Selma to Montgomery Rights March (1965), the Orangeburg Massacre (1968), sit-ins, voter registration drives in the South, and the murder of fourteen year old Emmett Till.
The National Archives
The National Archives Martin Luther King, Jr. exhibit includes a variety of digital resources, such as the program for the March on Washington and news footage of that march.

Newspaper Collections in MacPhaidin Library

Boston Globe 1980-present (full text - no images) This link opens in a new window
New York Times 1851-2014 This link opens in a new window
Provides easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
New York Times 1985 - Current This link opens in a new window
Search the full text of The New York Times (from 1985 to one day before the current date).

Newspaper Collections Available Online

Google News Archive Search
This Google search platform allows users to search and explore information from historical archives dating back over 200 years.
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers
Search America's historic newspapers pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Produced by the Library of Congress.