Skip to main content

Political Science: Start Here

This guide is to help you with your research in Political Science.

Librarians Can Help!

Librarians are here to support you through this sudden change to online learning.  Check out the Library Resources and Support course in eLearn, or contact us by:

 

Text: 508.709.0223

Email: librarydeskgroup@stonehill.edu

Tel: 508.565.1313

Make a Virtual Appointment

The Center for Writing and Academic Achievement

The Center for Writing and Academic Achievement (CWAA) will provide online tutoring through Spring 2020. All tutoring appointments & group subject labs will continue via eLearn. Please login to TutorTrac with your myhill username and password for more information, to view the schedule, and book appointments. For any questions, please chat with us on our website https://www.stonehill.edu/offices-and-services/cwaa/ or contact us via email cwaa-services@stonehill.edu.

 

Phone numbers and email addresses for the Center for Writing and Academic Achievement are:

Devon Sprague, Director
508-565-1751

CWAA-Services@stonehill.edu

Alicia Brienza, Assistant Director
508-565-1570
CWAA-Services@stonehill.edu

Leona O'Neil, Administrative Assistant
508-565-1572
CWAA-Services@stonehill.edu


 

How to Navigate This Guide

Welcome

This guide has been designed to give you easy access to the resources most frequently used for political science. The home page of this guide will provide you with information about Reference hours and how you can contact the librarians or make an appointment research assistance.

Journals / Articles - This page will explain how to locate articles in the library in addition to an annotated list of the electronic databases used most frequently for political science. These databases will provide you with access to articles appearing in scholarly, peer reviewed journals as well as items published in popular sources such as news magazines, newspapers and trade publications. This page will also provide you with a link to Google Scholar and Interlibrary Loan via ILLiad.

Books and Videos - This page will give you access to our library catalog, HillSearch and WorldCat. Use HillSearch to locate books and additional items. The WorldCat database contains records from libraries across the country and around the world. Use this in conjunction with our Interlibrary Loan service to request items not available in the MacPhaidin library.

eBooks - Our eBooks can be downloaded to a number of electronic devices. Convenient and mobile, they are easily accessed through HillSeach.

Web Sites -  This page provides links to reputable collections and websites related to the subject area of this LibGuide.

Reference Sources - For background information, definitions, and basic facts, consult the encyclopedias, dictionaries, and sourcebooks listed on this page. Political science resources are located in the J - JK sections on the first floor. Reference items are for use only in the library.

Streaming Media - Use HillSearch to locate a online video that can be watched anywhere, anytime. These videos can be embedded into your class presentation.

Public Opinion and Statistical Sources - Links to popular poll sites, statistical collections and links to media outlets.

Citing Your Research - Your professor will likely specify which citation style they want used. This page will provide you access to a number of the most frequently-used citation styles. This will also give you a link to RefWorks, an online citation tool.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact Us

In accordance with best practices to help stop the spread of COVID-19, the library is closed until it is safe to reopen.

While there is no physical access to the library, librarians continue to work full-time, remotely.

  Phone, chat, and email are monitored:
 

  • Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
    ‚Äč

Students who wish to meet virtually with a reference librarian can make an appointment using LibCal. Librarians offer convenient meeting times and will be using ZOOM for the virtual meeting. If you do not see a convenient time in the LibCal schedule, please email a librarian directly to schedule an appointment.

 Text us at 508.709.0223

  Call The Desk at 508.565.1313

  Email us  

 Make a Virtual Reference appointment

Contact Me

Jane Swiszcz's picture
Jane Swiszcz
Contact:
Reference
MacPhaidin Library
508-565-1452
libguide_footer
Login to LibApps Noice of Web Accessibility