Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Directories in Print
American Hospital Association guide to the health care field.
Call Number: REF RA977.A1 A46
Provides comprehensive, accurate information on 6,500 hospitals, 400-plus health care systems, networks and alliances, 700 health care organizations and associations, 700 governmental agencies and 3,000 other accredited providers.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries in Print
Encyclopedia of health care management. by
Call Number: REF RA971 .E52
Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedic entries explaining academic, corporate and governmental topics related to health care management.
The Merck Manual Home Health Handbook by
Call Number: REF RC81 .M535 2009
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Contains reliable, up-to-date information on a broad range of medical conditions, illnesses, and situations, including accidents and injuries, aging, cancer, diabetes, digestive disorders, heart disease, mental health disorders, and many others Covers men's, women's, pediatric (both newborns and older children), and geriatric health issues
Oxford illustrated companion to medicine. by
Call Number: REF R121 .O884
Publication Date: 2001
Provides a broad account of the current state and past history of the medical, nursing and allied health sciences.
U. S. Health Policy and Politics by
Call Number: REF RA395.A3 H555 2012
Publication Date: 2011-10-17
More than 150 primary-source historic documents that will help readers understand how U.S. health policies have evolved to the point where they now exert a tremendous influence over virtually every aspect of American life, from the commercial fortunes of industries to the household budgets of ordinary families.
Statistical Sources in Print
American Hospital Association hospital statistics.
Call Number: REF RA981.A2 A6234
Publication Date: 1993/1994-
Statistical tables present a profile of financial, utilization, personnel, and hospital facilities and serices of U. S. hospitals. This series begin with the 1993/1994 edition.
Health, United States.
Call Number: REF RA407.3 .U57
Annual summaries on the status of health in the United States. Includes detailed statistical tables. The most recent copy is located in the Reference collection, while the older issues are in the Government Documents collection.
ProQuest Statistical abstract of the United States by
Call Number: Reference HA 202 .P76
Publication Date: 2013 +
The Statistical Abstract of the United States, is a fascinating and authoritative collection of facts and figures covering virtually every aspect of American life. The official Federal summary of statistics is derived from both government and private statistical sources ”this reference covers everything from agriculture to construction, forestry to law enforcement, and national security to transportation. It is a continuation of the Statistical Abstract of the United States that was published by the Bureau of the Census department.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Call Number: Government Documents C 3.134:
Publication Date: 1931 to 2012
Summary tables of the most important United States statistics. These are located in the Government Documents collection. This collection ends with the 2012 edition continued by the ProQuest editions.
Statistical Sources Available on the Internet
American Community Survey
The ACS provides estimates of demographic, housing, social, and economic characteristics every year for states, counties, metropolitan areas, cities, and population groups of 65,000 people or more.
Office of Data Management and Outcomes Assessment
The Massachusetts ODMOA facilitates and coordinates the collection, access to, and use of public health data in order to monitor and improve population health. Our data are used to improve public health practice, assess community health needs, support research and grant applications, and policy development. (from website)
Health, United States
This link will give you access to the online editions from 1995 to 2012. See Health United States 2012 for the latest edition.
Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878 - 2012
The Statistical Abstract of the United States spans the years 1878 to 2012. The Abstract has summary tables of the most important United States statistics. The 2012 was the last volume printed by the Bureau of the Census. The newer editions are available in print Statistical Abstract of the United States - ProQuest.