Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Images of Merle Oberon, Hedy Lamarr and Jayne Mansfield from the LIFE Photo Archive, hosted by Google
Popular film websites with an academic/analytical approach
AFI: Catalog of Feature Films
The Institute's website describes the AFI Catalog of Feature Films as "....the most authoritative filmographic database on the web, includes entries on nearly 60,000 American feature-length and 17,000 short films produced from 1893-2011, as well as AFI AWARDS Outstanding Movies of the Year from 2000 through 2010."
British Film Institute: Library and Research
The website for the British Film Institute's Library and Research sections provides access to a wealth of information. Here you'll find a database of films, television shows, actors and awards ceremonies as well as statistics about the British Film Industry and annotated bibliographies on film-related topics.
Confessions of an Aca-Fan: The Official Weblog of Henry Jenkins
Jenkins, the Provost's Professor of Communication, Journalism, and Cinematic Arts at the University of Southern California, served as co-founder of theComparative Media Studies Program at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is the author of a dozen books on media and popular culture.
David Bordwell is a top scholar in the field of cinema studies. His website gives you access to his blog, links to many of his scholarly journal articles, abstracts of his numerous books, and access to the full-text of many of his essays.
Jim Emmerson's Scanners::Blog
This blog, by Seattle-based writer and film Critic Jim Emerson, provides a wealth of articles as well as links to film blogs, journals, ezines, websites and other film critics.