LibGuides: How to Save Paper When Using Library Databases: Home

EBSCO paper-saving features

EBSCOhost databases offer several features that can make your research more efficient AND save paper.

Some of these features are available to all EBSCOhost database users. Others are available only to users who also create a personal account.

All users of an EBSCOhost database are able to use the EBSCO folder. The folder allows you to select citations from the results of your search. Although you may then print your selected citations, there are other folder options that can reduce paper use. You can save or email folder contents for reading later or sharing with others. You can export the contents of the folder directly to RefWorks or some other bibliography management software. Unless you have an EBSCO personal account, the use of the folder is session specific. When you leave the database, you lose the folders contents. For more information, see "Using the Folder" in EBSCO help

EBSCO also allows you to set up a personal account in EBSCO. With a personal account, you can save the contents of your folder permanently and access them from any computer. You can also set up multiple folders and share folders with others. See "Personal Accounts", and further down the page in "Using the Folder".

EBSCOhost now automatically displays a mobile version of the site when you are on a smartphone. The mobile interface allows you to search and read results as well as gives full access to search options and folder items. There’s also an easy way to switch between the mobile-optimized site and the full featured site.

More paper-saving enhancements are coming soon from EBSCO.

EBSCO Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database containing over 13,690 indexed and abstracted journals and nearly 9,100 full-text journals, of which more than 7,900 are peer-reviewed. The database features PDF content going back as far as 1887, with the majority of full text titles in native (searchable) PDF format. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,450 journals.
Updated daily
ATLA Catholic Periodical and Literature Index This link opens in a new window
This index database is an essential resource for religious and theological studies, providing bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides a quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
EconLit is a source for articles, books, and papers on topics in economics such as accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, federal regulations, labor, monetary theory, and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the 1970s, but citations are available for materials published as far back as 1900.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Includes citations to research literature in more than 3500 scholarly journals, monographic series, books, collections of essays and dissertations in the fields of modern languages and literatures, linguistics and folklore. Coverage is from 1963 to the present.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields. It covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 25,000 searchable full-text articles from 42 journals published by the American Psychological Association and allied organizations from 1988 to the present.
Psycinfo This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations, and technical reports from the field of psychology and from psychological aspects of other disciplines. Journal coverage is 1887 to the present, with material from over 1300 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes English-language material published from 1987 to the present.
SocINDEX with FullText This link opens in a new window
A sociology research database with abstracts for more than 620 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. It also provides data mined from more than 500 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 1,390 "selective" coverage journals.