White House and Executive Branch - Government Documents - Federal Depository Program

Home Pages White House and Executive Branch Agencies

The descriptions are taken from the United States Government Manual.

As the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees.

United States Department of Agriculture
The Department of Agriculture provides leadership on food, agricultural, and environmental issues by developing agricultural markets, fighting hunger and malnutrition, conserving natural resources, and ensuring standards of food quality through safeguards and inspections.
United States Department of Commerce
The Department of Commerce promotes the Nation's domestic and international trade, economic growth, and technological advancement by fostering a globally competitive free enterprise system, supporting fair trade practices, compiling social and economic statistics, protecting Earth's physical and oceanic resources, granting patents and registering trademarks, and providing assistance to small and minority-owned businesses.
United States Department of Defense
The Department of Defense is responsible for providing the military forces needed to deter war and protect the security of our country. The major elements of these forces are the Army, Navy, Marine Corps, and Air Force, consisting of about 1.3 million men and women on active duty.
United States Department of Education
The Department of Education establishes policy for, administers, and coordinates most Federal assistance to education. Its mission is to ensure equal access to education and to promote educational excellence throughout the Nation.
United States Department of Energy
The Department of Energy's mission is to advance the national, economic, and energy security of the United States; to promote scientific and technological innovation in support of that mission; and to ensure the environmental cleanup of the national nuclear weapons complex.
United States Department of Health & Human Services
The Department of Health and Human Services is the principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans. It is comprised of the Office of the Secretary and 11 operating divisions. The agencies perform a wide variety of tasks and services, including research, public health, food and drug safety, grants and other funding, health insurance, and many others.
United States Department of Homeland Security
The Department of Homeland Security leads the unified national effort to secure America. It will prevent and deter terrorist attacks and protect against and respond to threats and hazards to the Nation. The Department will ensure safe and secure borders, welcome lawful immigrants and visitors, and promote the free flow of commerce.
United States Department of Housing and Urban Development
The Department of Housing and Urban Development is the principal Federal agency responsible for programs concerning the Nation's housing needs, fair housing opportunities, and improvement and development of the Nation's communities.
United States Department of Justice
The Department of Justice serves as counsel for the citizens of the United States. It represents them in enforcing the law in the public interest. Through its thousands of lawyers, investigators, and agents, the Department plays the key role in protection against criminals and subversion, ensuring healthy business competition, safeguarding the consumer, and enforcing drug, immigration, and naturalization laws. Click on Agencies to see a list of agencies included in the DOJ.
United States Department of Labor
The Department of Labor promotes the welfare of job seekers, wage earners, and retirees by improving working conditions, advancing opportunities for profitable employment, protecting retirement and health care benefits, matching workers to employers, strengthening free collective bargaining, and tracking changes in economic indicators on a national scale. The Department administers a variety of Federal labor laws to guarantee workers' rights to fair, safe, and healthy working conditions, including minimum hourly wage and overtime pay, protection against employment discrimination, and unemployment insurance.
United States Department of State
The Department of State advises the President and leads the Nation in foreign policy issues to advance freedom and democracy for the American people and the international community. To this end, the Department compiles research on American overseas interests, disseminates information on foreign policy to the public, negotiates treaties and agreements with foreign nations, and represents the United States in the United Nations and other international organizations and conferences.
more...less...
Use the menu bar or the search option to find information your topic.
United States Department of the Interior
The Department of the Interior protects America’s natural resources and heritage, honors our cultures and tribal communities, and supplies the energy to power our future.
United States Department of the Treasury
The Department of the Treasury serves as financial agent for the U.S. Government, manufacturing coins and currency, enforcing financial laws, and recommending economic, tax, and fiscal policies.
United States Department of Transportation
The Department of Transportation establishes national transportation policy for highway planning, and construction, motor carrier safety, urban mass transit, railroads, aviation, and the safety of waterways, ports, highways, and pipelines.
United States Department of Veterans' Affairs
The Department of Veterans Affairs operates programs to benefit veterans and members of their families. Benefits include compensation payments for disabilities or death related to military service; pensions; education and rehabilitation; home loan guaranty; burial; and a medical care program incorporating nursing homes, clinics, and medical centers.
The White House
The President is the administrative head of the executive branch of the Government, which includes numerous agencies, both temporary and permanent, as well as the 15 executive departments.

United States Government Manual

United States Government Manual
The online version of the manual begins with the 1995-1996 edition. the official handbook of the Federal Government, the United States Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies; international organizations in which the United States participates; and boards, commissions, and committees. The Manual begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.

The United States Government Manual by Washington, D.C. : Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration
ISBN: 0092-1904
Publication Date: Annual
The library has this publication from 1954 until the present time. The most recent copy can be found at the Reference desk. Older copies have the Sudoc number GS 4.109:1954 until 1984 and AE 2.108/2:from 1985 unitl the present. Thses are located on the second floor. This link can be used to access the online version of this title.

Government Documents - Federal Depository Program: White House and Executive Branch

Home Pages White House and Executive Branch Agencies

United States Government Manual